• Defense + Commercial Sensing
    Orlando 2018
    Benefits of attending
    Defense + Security
    Commercial + Scientific Sensing and Imaging
    Cyber Physical Systems / IoT
    Unmanned Autonomous Systems
    Rising Researchers
    For Authors and Presenters
    For Chairs and Committees
    For Exhibitors
Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center
Orlando, Florida, United States
15 - 19 April 2018
Search Open Calls:    go
Print PageEmail Page

Plan to Participate

We invite you to participate in SPIE Defense + Security 2018, the leading meeting for scientists, researchers and engineers from industry, military, government agencies, and academia throughout the world. Defense + Security continues 40 years of being the leading conference on imaging and sensing technologies used to help create a safer world.

SPIE Defense + Commercial Sensing has initiated a 3-city rotation among Anaheim, Orlando, and Baltimore. In 2018, we will be back in Orlando, Florida, where we started out as Aerosense many, many years ago.

Along with sharing your latest research, you will have a chance to see the latest products from leading companies on the exhibition floor, and network with leaders in the sensing and imaging industry. Thank you again for your past participation, and we look forward to an even closer and stronger partnership with you during Defense + Security 2018. We urge you to participate by submitting your abstracts, and to encourage your colleagues to do the same.

2018 Defense + Security Symposium Chairs

Arthur A. Morrish

Arthur A. Morrish
Vice President
Advanced Concepts and Technology
Raythoen Space and Airborne Systems (USA)
2018 Defense + Security Symposium Chair

Ruth Moser

Ruth Moser
Director of the Sensors Directorate
Air Force Research Lab. (USA)

2018 SPIE Defense + Security Symposium Co-Chair

2018 Defense + Commercial Sensing Steering Committee

Sachin Dekate, GE Global Research (USA)
Robert A. Lieberman, Lumoptix LLC (USA)
David A. Logan, BAE Systems (USA)
Peter L. Marasco, Air Force Research Lab. (USA)
John M. Pellegrino, Georgia Tech Research Institute (USA)
Majid Rabbani, Rochester Institute of Technology (USA)
Donald A. Reago, Jr., U.S. Army Night Vision & Electronic Sensors Directorate (USA)
Jennifer Ricklin, Entrepreneur/Investor (USA) and Sage Solutions Group (USA)
Nils R. Sandell, Jr., Consultant (USA)

2018 Defense + Security Technical Conference Chairs

Mohammad S. Alam, Texas A&M Univ. (USA)
Bjørn F. Andresen, Consultant, Infrared Technologies and Applications (Israel)
Robert A. Arnone, The Univ. of Southern Mississippi (USA)
Jarvis (Trey) J. Arthur III, NASA Langley Research Ctr. (USA)
Amit Ashok, College of Optical Sciences, The Univ. of Arizona (USA)
Bhashyam Balaji, Defence Research and Development Canada (Canada)
Tonny Benschop, Thales Cryogenics B.V. (Netherlands)
Steven S. Bishop, U.S. Army Night Vision & Electronic Sensors Directorate (USA)
Erik P. Blasch, Air Force Research Lab. (USA)
Misty Blowers, ICF International (USA)
Edward M. Carapezza, EMC Consulting, LLC (USA)
Genshe Chen, Intelligent Fusion Technology, Inc. (USA)
Peter Chin, Boston Univ. (USA)
Armin W. Doerry, Sandia National Labs. (USA)
Peter J. Doucette, U.S. Geological Survey (USA)
Mark Dubinskii, U.S. Army Research Lab. (USA)
Michael C. Dudzik, IQM Research Institute (USA)
Achyut K. Dutta, Banpil Photonics, Inc. (USA)
Darren K. Emge, U.S. Army Edgewood Chemical Biological Ctr. (USA)
Richard I. Epstein, The Univ. of New Mexico (USA)
Augustus Way Fountain III, U.S. Army Edgewood Chemical Biological Ctr. (USA)
Gabor F. Fulop, Maxtech International, Inc. and Infrared Imaging News (USA)
Douglas W. Gage, XPM Technologies (USA)
Frederick D. Garber, Wright State Univ. (USA)
Michael E. Gehm, Duke Univ. (USA)
Thomas George, SaraniaSat Inc. (USA)
Joel A. Greenberg, Duke Univ. (USA)
Lynne L. Grewe, California State Univ., East Bay (USA)
Jason A. Guicheteau, U.S. Army Edgewood Chemical Biological Ctr. (USA)
Russell D. Hall, Northrop Grumman Corp. (USA)
Timothy P. Hanratty, U.S. Army Research Lab. (USA)
Charles M. Hanson, SenseIR Solutions, LLC (USA)
Joseph P. Heremans, The Ohio State Univ. (USA)
Gerald C. Holst, JCD Publishing (USA)
Weilin (Will) Hou, U.S. Naval Research Lab. (USA)
Robert A. Hummel, National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency (USA)
Jason C. Isaacs, Naval Surface Warfare Ctr. Panama City Div. (USA)
M. Saif Islam, Univ. of California, Davis (USA)
Ivan Kadar, Interlink Systems Sciences, Inc. (USA)
Gary W. Kamerman, FastMetrix, Inc. (USA)
Robert E. Karlsen, U.S. Army Tank Automotive Research, Development and Engineering Ctr. (USA)
Eric J. Kelmelis, EM Photonics, Inc. (USA)
Thia Kirubarajan, McMaster Univ. (Canada)
Michael A. Kolodny, U.S. Army Research Lab. (USA)
Keith A. Krapels, U.S. Army Night Vision & Electronic Sensors Directorate (USA)
James Llinas, Univ. at Buffalo (USA)
Abhijit Mahalanobis, Lockheed Martin Missiles and Fire Control (USA)
Ronald P. S. Mahler, Randon Sets, LLC (USA)
Peter L. Marasco, Air Force Research Lab. (USA)
David W. Messinger, Rochester Institute of Technology (USA)
John Lester Miller, Cascade Electro Optics (USA)
Mark A. Neifeld, The Univ. of Arizona (USA)
Timothy C. Newell, Air Force Research Lab. (USA)
Hoa G. Nguyen, Space and Naval Warfare Systems Ctr. Pacific (USA)
Paul R. Norton, U.S. Army Night Vision & Electronic Sensors Directorate (USA)
Kannappan Palaniappan, Univ. of Missouri-Columbia (USA)
Khanh D. Pham, Air Force Research Lab. (USA)
Michael K. Rafailov, Univ. of Alberta (Canada)
Kenneth I. Ranney, U.S. Army Research Lab. (USA)
Sergry V. Riabzev, RICOR Cryogenic & Vacuum Systems (Israel)
Jennifer C. Ricklin, SAGE Solutions Group, Inc. (USA)
Duncan A. Robertson, Univ. of St. Andrews (United Kingdom)
Firooz A. Sadjadi, Lockheed Martin Advanced Technology Labs. (USA)
John (Jack) N. Sanders-Reed, The Boeing Co. (USA)
Jasbinder S. Sanghera, U.S. Naval Research Lab. (USA)
Gunasekaran Seetharaman, U.S. Naval Research Lab. (USA)
Mansoor Sheik-Bahae, The Univ. of New Mexico (USA)
Devanand K. Shenoy, U.S. Dept. of Energy (USA)
Charles M. Shoemaker, U.S. Army CERDEC (USA)
Miguel P. Snyder, U.S. Army RDECOM CERDEC NVESD (USA)
Raja Suresh, General Dynamics Mission Systems (USA)
Igor V. Ternovskiy, Air Force Research Lab. (USA)
Monte D. Turner, Air Force Research Lab. (USA)
Michael T. Valley, Sandia National Labs. (USA)
Miguel Velez-Reyes, The Univ. of Texas at El Paso (USA)
Jay N. Vizgaitis, optX imaging system (USA)
Philip D. West, Georgia Tech Research Institute (USA)
Dietrich M. Wiegmann, U.S. Army Research Lab. (USA)
David A. Wikner, U.S. Army Research Lab. (USA)
Jonathan Williams, Air Force Cyberspace Operations Squadron(USA)
Edmund Zelnio, Air Force Research Lab. (USA)

Important Author Dates

Abstracts Due
9 October 2017

Author Notification
11 December 2017

Manuscripts Due
19 March 2018

Browse Defense, Security, and Sensing 2011 papers

Rising Researchers
Recognizing early career professionals.

Applications Due
16 October

Learn More

Sign up for event e-alerts