• Bio-Photonics Australasia
    Special Events
    Travel to Australia
    For Authors/Presenters
    For Chairs/Committees
Adelaide Convention Centre, North Terrace
Adelaide, Australia
16 - 19 October 2016
Print PageEmail Page

Plan to Participate

At its heart, SPIE BioPhotonics Australasia will provide an opportunity for a broad-ranging exploration of the use of interactions between light and biological systems, and applications of these approaches to provide advances in biomedicine and imaging.

SPIE BioPhotonics Australasia will connect people across scientific disciplines. The meeting will incorporate presentation and discussion of science in plenaries, themed sessions, speed science discussions, and industry engagement forums. The meeting will engage trainees to researcher leaders, chemists to biologists to clinicians to physicists, and academics, industry, and policy makers. A goal of this meeting will be for every attendee to have had the opportunity to engage one-on-one with someone outside their science discipline and outside their respective industry (academia/industry/policy). Many new transdisciplinary and translational collaborations and long-lived friendships will be forged.


SPIE BioPhotonics Australasia 2016 Organising Committee


Symposium Chairs:

Mark Hutchinson Mark R. Hutchinson, The University of Adelaide (Australia)
Ewa Goldys Ewa M. Goldys, Macquarie University (Australia)

 Executive Organising Committee

Andrew D. Abell, The Univ. of Adelaide (Australia)
John Arkwright, Flinders Univ. (Australia)
Hans A. Bachor, The Australian National Univ. (Australia)
Warwick P. Bowen, The Univ. of Queensland (Australia)
Gilberto Brambilla, Univ. of Southampton (United Kingdom)
Tomáš Cižmár, Univ. of Dundee (United Kingdom)
Yves De Koninck, Univ. Laval (Canada)
C. Martijn de Sterke, The Univ. of Sydney (Australia)
Heike Ebendorff-Heidepriem, The Univ. of Adelaide (Australia)
Benjamin J. Eggleton, The Univ. of Sydney (Australia)
Paul M. W. French, Imperial College London (United Kingdom)
Brant Gibson, RMIT Univ. (Australia)
Kenneth T. V. Grattan, City Univ. London (United Kingdom)
Andrew D. Greentree, RMIT Univ. (Australia)
Min Gu, RMIT Univ. (Australia)
Dayong Jin, Univ. of Technology, Sydney (Australia)
Yuri S. Kivshar, The Australian National Univ. (Australia)
Andre N. Luiten, The Univ. of Adelaide (Australia)
Qingming Luo, Huazhong Univ. of Science and Technology (China)
Dennis L. Matthews, UC Davis Medical Ctr. (United States)
Robert McLaughlin, The Univ. of Adelaide (Australia)
Tanya M. Monro, Univ. of South Australia (Australia)
Stephen J. Nicholls, South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute (Australia)
Nicolle H. Packer, Macquarie Univ. (Australia)
Francesco S. Pavone, European Lab. for Non-linear Spectroscopy (Italy)
James A. Piper, Macquarie Univ. (Australia)
Jürgen Popp, Leibniz-Institut für Photonische Technologien e.V. (Germany)
Ann Roberts, The Univ. of Melbourne (Australia)
Halina Rubinsztein-Dunlop, The Univ. of Queensland (Australia)
David D. Sampson, The Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)
Trevor A. Smith, The Univ. of Melbourne (Australia)
Tong Sun, City Univ. London (United Kingdom)
Katarina Svanberg, Lund Univ. Hospital (Sweden)
Jeremy G. Thompson, The Univ. of Adelaide (Australia)
Brian C. Wilson, Univ. of Toronto (Canada)



SPIE logo

Important Dates

Abstracts Due 
2 May 2016

Author Notifications
20 June 2016

Paper/Summary Due
19 September 2016

Get the SPIE App Now

Download your free Conference and Exhibition App (iPhone and Android)

Download the free Conference and Exhibition App for iOS or Android.

Sign up for event e-alerts


Join the conversation
on social media:


Twitter @SPIEtweets Instagram @SPIEphotonics Facebook SPIE, the international society for optics and photonics