• About the Society
  • SPIE Altruism
  • Diversity
  • International Day of Light
  • Fellows and Senior Members
  • Awards Programs
  • Press Room
  • Press Releases
    SPIE Member News
    Event News
    Media Contacts
    Press Registration
    SPIE Logos and Name
  • Public Policy
  • Jobs at SPIE
Print PageEmail Page

James Wyant honored with Chandra S. Vikram Award in Optical Metrology

25 February 2010

James C. Wyant, College of Optical Sciences, University of Arizona, Tucson, Arizona, USA, is the 2010 recipient of the Chandra S. Vikram award in recognition of his lifetime of achievements in optical metrology, in particular his pioneering contributions to the field of quantitative interferometric optical testing, and for nurturing the invention of phase-measuring interferometer systems.

"Prof. Wyant has made many different outstanding contributions to the field of optical metrology as an educator, scientist, manager, and organizer of different activities for SPIE," said Maria J. Yzuel, SPIE Immediate Past President.

In addition to Prof Wyant's academic accomplishments his research work in optical metrology is enormous and he has a long list of about 170 selected publications in his CV. Much of these publications are a reference in the technological areas of optical testing and metrology. In his research activities with innovative ideas he has introduced new possibilities and solutions to optical testing in particular to interferometry. He was the Major Advisor of more than 30 graduated PhD students and 25 graduated MS students. Prof. Wyant has trained many excellent researchers in the field of optical metrology. He holds 10 patents all related with optical metrology.

Wyant has served SPIE in many roles. He has been an SPIE Member since 1972 and a Fellow of the Society since 1980. He served on the Board of Governors (now known as the Board of Directors) from 1978 to 1984. He also served on committees including Symposia, Awards, Fellows, and the Kingslake Award Committees. Wyant was President of SPIE in 1986, and is the current President of The Optical Society of America (OSA).

The Chandra S. Vikram Award in Optical Metrology is given annually for exceptional contribution to the field of optical metrology. The award may be presented for a specific achievement, development, or invention of significant importance to optical metrology, or may be given for lifetime achievement. An honorarium of $2,000 will be presented.

For more information on this year's recipient and past winners, visit http://spie.org/x25064.xml.

SPIE presents several yearly awards that recognize outstanding individual and team technical accomplishments and meritorious service to the Society. SPIE urges you to nominate a colleague for his or her outstanding achievements. Nominations may be made through October 1 of any given year and are considered active for three years from the submission date. Visit SPIE.org/x1164.xml for instructions and nomination forms.

SPIE the international society for optics and photonics was founded in 1955 to advance light-based technologies. Serving more than 188,000 constituents from 138 countries, the Society advances emerging technologies through interdisciplinary information exchange, continuing education, publications, patent precedent, and career and professional growth. SPIE annually organizes and sponsors approximately 25 major technical forums, exhibitions, and education programs in North America, Europe, Asia, and the South Pacific, and supports scholarships, grants, and other education programs around the world.