• About the Society
  • SPIE Altruism
  • International Day of Light
  • Fellows and Senior Members
  • Awards Programs
  • Press Room
  • Press Releases
    SPIE Member News
    Event News
    Press Kits and Fact Sheets
    PR Contacts
    RSS Collection
    SPIE Logos and Name
    Press Registration
  • Public Policy
  • Related Organizations
  • Jobs at SPIE
Print PageEmail Page

SPIE Members and Fellows honored in Rochester

27 October 2010

Several Members and Fellows of SPIE were honored this week for their contributions to optics and photonics.

SPIE Fellow and Society Vice President Eustace Dereniak of the Univ. of Arizona received the Esther Hoffman Beller Medal "for contributions to optical sciences and engineering education, noting particularly his books on geometrical optics, infrared detectors and infrared systems, his classroom teaching and his mentoring of optics students." Dereniak has chaired more than 20 SPIE conferences and published more than 100 papers in SPIE Proceedings.

Alan Willner of the Univ. of Southern California received the Paul F. Forman Engineering Excellence Award for "technical advances in optical fiber communications technologies that have enabled major improvements in the performance and reliability of wavelength-division-multiplexed systems." He was also honored for his excellence in education in optical fiber telecommunications. Willner is a Fellow of SPIE with more than 25 publications for SPIE, and has chaired three SPIE conferences.

Vladimir Shalaev of Purdue Univ. received the Max Born Award "for seminal contributions to both the theoretical framework and the experimental realization of optical metamaterials." Shalaev is a Fellow of SPIE with more than 60 SPIE publications. He has chaired eight SPIE conferences, including three on plasmonics.

Shin-Tson Wu of the Univ. of Central Florida is the recipient of the Joseph Fraunhofer Award/Robert M. Burley Prize in recognition of significant accomplishments in optical engineering. Wu is a Fellow of SPIE who has published more than 40 papers in SPIE Proceedings.

Eli Peli, The Schepens Eye Research Institute, an affiliate of Harvard Medical School, received the Edwin Land Medal. He was honored for "pioneering research, clinical, and entrepreneurial contributions to providing enhanced imagery for people with impaired vision through image processing, innovative optical designs, fiber optics, and applications of vision science." The award is co-sponsored with the IS&T, the Society for Imaging Science and Technology. Peli is a Fellow of SPIE and a regular participant in SPIE/IS&T Electronic Imaging Symposium.

Kenneth Moore, ZEMAX Development Corp., received the David Richardson Medal "for the development of state-of-the-art optical design and analysis software combining the capabilities required by the expert designer and the ease of use and accessibility needed for an occasional optics analysis user."

Henry Kapteyn of JILA, Univ. of Colorado, received the R.W. Wood Prize with his wife and research partner, Margaret Murnane. They were honored "for critical ad­vances in the science and technology of high-harmonics generation, with particular relevance to sub-femto­second pulse generation and related attosecond-scale physics." Kapteyn and Murnane have published more than 20 papers with SPIE.

The awards were presented on 26 October at the OSA Frontiers in Optics Meeting in Rochester, New York.