• About the Society
  • SPIE Altruism
  • Advocacy
  • International Day of Light
  • Awards Programs
  • Press Room
  • Press Releases
    SPIE Member News
    Event News
    Media Contacts
    Press Registration
    SPIE Logos and Name
  • Jobs at SPIE
Print PageEmail Page

James Harris and John Rogers elected to National Academy of Engineering

03 March 2011

SPIE Fellow James S. Harris, Jr., and SPIE Member John A. Rogers are among those elected to membership in the U.S. National Academy of Engineering (NAE) for 2011, NAE President Charles Vest has announced.

Harris is the James and Ellenor Chesebrough Professor of Electrical Engineering, Materials Science, and Applied Physics at Stanford Univ. He was recognized for contributions to epitaxial growth of compound semiconductor materials and their applications.

Harris has presented approximately 75 papers at SPIE events, with upcoming presentations scheduled at SPIE Defense, Security and Sensing 2011 (DSS11) in April on "Integrated photonic structures for parallel fluorescence and refractive index biosensing" and at SPIE Optics+Photonics (OP11) in August on "High-performance Ge quantum well modulators for optical interconnects."

Rogers holds the Lee J. Flory Founder Chair in Engineering in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at the Univ. of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, and was recognized for novel electronic and optoelectronic devices and systems.

Rogers has served on numerous SPIE conference program committees and published nearly 20 papers in the SPIE Digital Library. He is scheduled to give an invited talk on "Ultrathin, microscale epitaxial compound semiconductor solar cells" at DSS11.

Read more about the new NAE members.