• About the Society
  • SPIE Altruism
  • Advocacy
  • International Day of Light
  • Awards Programs
  • Press Room
  • Press Releases
    SPIE Member News
    Event News
    Media Contacts
    Press Registration
    SPIE Logos and Name
  • Jobs at SPIE
Print PageEmail Page

Kristina Johnson awarded John Fritz Medal

Dr. Kristina Johnson of Johns Hopkins, recipient of the John Fritz Medal in 2008.

Kristina M. Johnson, provost and senior vice president for academic affairs at The Johns Hopkins University, has been selected to receive the John Fritz Medal, widely considered the highest award in the engineering profession. Johnson is an SPIE Fellow and serves on the Society's Board of Directors.

The honor, established more than a century ago and given to such innovators as Thomas Edison, Alexander Graham Bell, George Westinghouse and Orville Wright, will be awarded to Johnson on May 5 by the American Association of Engineering Societies.

See the full press release from Johns Hopkins University.