• About the Society
  • SPIE Altruism
  • International Day of Light
  • Fellows and Senior Members
  • Awards Programs
  • Press Room
  • Press Releases
    SPIE Member News
    Event News
    Press Kits and Fact Sheets
    PR Contacts
    RSS Collection
    SPIE Logos and Name
    Press Registration
  • Public Policy
  • Related Organizations
  • Jobs at SPIE
Print PageEmail Page

ICO accepting nominations for two optics and photonics awards

ICO, the International Commission for Optics, is accepting nominations through 15 April for two annual awards honoring achievements in optics and photonics.

The ICO Galileo Galilei Award recognizes researchers in optics and photonics for outstanding contributions achieved under comparatively unfavorable circumstances. Prof. Tomasz Szoplik of the University of Warsaw, Poland, is award committee chair for 2009.

The ICO Prize recognizes individuals who have made noteworthy contributions to optics published or submitted for publication before the individual reaches the age of 40. Prof. Byoung Yoon Kim of Novera Optics, Korea, is chair of the 2009 prize committee.

Application instructions for both awards are at http://www.ico-optics/awards.html.

SPIE is an International Society Member of ICO.