• About the Society
  • SPIE Altruism
  • International Day of Light
  • Fellows and Senior Members
  • Awards Programs
  • Press Room
  • Press Releases
    SPIE Member News
    Event News
    Press Kits and Fact Sheets
    PR Contacts
    RSS Collection
    SPIE Logos and Name
    Press Registration
  • Public Policy
  • Related Organizations
  • Jobs at SPIE
Print PageEmail Page

Gupta, Lail receive Presidential Early Career Awards 

SPIE Members Maya Gupta and Brian Lail are among those named last week as recipients of the 2007 Presidential Early Career Awrds for Scientists and Engineers. Dr. Gupta is an assistant professor of electrical engineering and adjunct assistant professor of applied mathematics at the University of Washington, and Dr. Lail is an assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering at the Florida Institute of Technology.

Gupta has served as a program committee member and published several papers with SPIE, and is scheduled to present on "Joint deconvolution and imaging," at the IS&T/SPIE Electronic Imaging meeting in San Jose, CA, next month. Lail has presented in conferences at SPIE Defense, Security and Sensing and SPIE Europe Security+Defence, and has research interests in applied and computational electromagnetism.

Among other SPIE authors and program committee members receiving the award were Zhenqiang Ma, University of Wisconsin, Madison, who will present a paper on "Angle and polarization dependent characteristics of colloidal quantum dot absorption in Fano filters on flexible substrates" at SPIE Photonics West next month; Yugang Sun, Argonne National Laboratory, who will present on "Carbon nanotube based hydrogen sensors" at SPIE Smart Structures/NDE in March; Charles Kankelborg, Montana State University; and Max Shtein, University of Michigan.

Read the complete White House press release.