• About the Society
  • SPIE Altruism
  • Diversity
  • International Day of Light
  • Fellows and Senior Members
  • Awards Programs
  • Press Room
  • Press Releases
    SPIE Member News
    Event News
    Media Contacts
    Press Registration
    SPIE Logos and Name
  • Public Policy
  • Related Organizations
  • Jobs at SPIE
Print PageEmail Page

European Research Council grant winners include SPIE Members

09 November 2010

Three SPIE members have received Starting Grants from the European Research Council (ERC), in support of their research in optics and photonics.

The grants program aims to support up-and-coming research leaders who are about to establish or consolidate research teams and to conducting independent research in Europe, said the ERC announcement. 

SPIE Members receiving the grants include:

  • Robert Huber, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München; conference committee member and author of 30 papers with SPIE, including six in the BiOS and LASE symposia at SPIE Photonics West 2011 in January
  • Daniel Razansky, Helmholtz Zentrum München GmbH; author of more than two dozen papers with SPIE, including several on optoacoustics and related topics at Photonics West 2011
  • Dries Van Thourhout, Universiteit Gent; author of more than 20 SPIE publications including presentations at SPIE Photonics Europe and two scheduled for Photonics West 2011 in the LASE and OPTO symposia.

"With these awards, the ERC is investing in both new projects and new talent," said Commissioner for Research, Innovation and Science Máire Geoghegan-Quinn. "Excellence in the kind of cutting-edge science funded by the ERC is a prerequisite for creating an Innovation Union in Europe and ultimately for achieving the EU's 'Europe 2020' objective of sustainable growth."

Read more about the awards in the ERC press release.