• About the Society
  • SPIE Altruism
  • International Day of Light
  • Fellows and Senior Members
  • Awards Programs
  • Press Room
  • Press Releases
    SPIE Member News
    Event News
    Press Kits and Fact Sheets
    PR Contacts
    RSS Collection
    SPIE Logos and Name
    Press Registration
  • Public Policy
  • Related Organizations
  • Jobs at SPIE
Print PageEmail Page

Eustace Dereniak wins Esther Hoffman Beller Medal

10 May 2010

SPIE Vice President Eustace L. Dereniak is the recipient of the 2010 Esther Hoffman Beller Medal for his contributions to optical sciences and engineering education, noting particularly his books on geometrical optics, infrared detectors and infrared systems, his classroom teaching and his mentoring of optics students.

Dereniak is a professor at the College of Optical Sciences, University of Arizona. He will become the SPIE President-Elect in 2011, and the President of the Society in 2012. He is a Fellow of the Society, and has served on the strategic planning, symposia, awards, and nominating committees.

The Esther Hoffman Beller Medal recognizes outstanding contributions to optical science and engineering education and is awarded by the Optical Society of America.