• About the Society
  • SPIE Altruism
  • Diversity
  • International Day of Light
  • Fellows and Senior Members
  • Awards Programs
  • Press Room
  • Press Releases
    SPIE Member News
    Event News
    Media Contacts
    Press Registration
    SPIE Logos and Name
  • Public Policy
  • Jobs at SPIE
Print PageEmail Page

Rajpal Sirohi honored with Dennis Gabor Award

21 April 2009

Rajpal Sirohi, Vice-Chancellor, Amity University Rajasthan, India, is the 2009 winner of the Dennis Gabor award in recognition of his outstanding accomplishments in the science and technology of numerous aspects of holography, speckle metrology, interferometry, and confocal microscopy.

"Prof. Sirohi has been nominated for outstanding accomplishments. In each of these areas, his contributions have been seminal and enabling. During the past four decades, he has published over 240 journal publications and ten books, which is remarkable. I have used one of his books to teach an experimental course on laser optics," said SPIE Fellow Akhlesh Lakhtakia, Distinguished Professor of Engineering Science & Mechanics at Penn State.

Sirohi is an Associate Editor of Optical Engineering, and has edited four volumes in SPIE's Milestone Series. He is a Fellow of the Society, and has served on several SPIE committees.

The Dennis Gabor Award is presented annually in recognition of outstanding accomplishments in diffractive wavefront technologies, especially those which further the development of holography and metrology applications. An honorarium of $2,000 will be presented.

SPIE presents several yearly awards that recognize outstanding individual and team technical accomplishments and meritorious service to the Society. SPIE urges you to nominate a colleague for his or her outstanding achievements. Nominations may be made through October 1 of any given year and are considered active for three years from the submission date. Visit SPIE.org/x1164.xml for instructions and nomination forms.