• About the Society
  • SPIE Altruism
  • International Day of Light
  • Fellows and Senior Members
  • Awards Programs
  • Press Room
  • Press Releases
    SPIE Member News
    Event News
    Press Kits and Fact Sheets
    PR Contacts
    RSS Collection
    SPIE Logos and Name
    Press Registration
  • Public Policy
  • Related Organizations
  • Jobs at SPIE
Print PageEmail Page

Ivan Božović is co-winner of Matthias Prize

25 July 2012

SPIE Fellow Ivan Božović of Brookhaven National Lab is a co-recipient of the 2012 Bernd T. Matthias Prize for outstanding work in materials aspects of superconductivity. The prize is awarded every three years and will be presented next week at the Materials and Mechanisms of Superconductivity conference next week in Washington, D.C.

Božović will share the prize with James Eckstein of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and Dirk Johrendt of Ludwig-Maximilians-Universitat Munchen.

A physicist in the Condensed Matter Physics and Materials Science Department at Brookhaven, Božović was the winner of SPIE Technology Award in 2004. He has chaired and served on organizing committees for numerous SPIE conferences on superconductor and related topics, including the Oxide-based Materials and Devices conference at SPIE Photonics West

Read the Brookhaven National Lab press release.