• About the Society
  • SPIE Altruism
  • Diversity
  • International Day of Light
  • Fellows and Senior Members
  • Awards Programs
  • Press Room
  • Press Releases
    SPIE Member News
    Event News
    Media Contacts
    Press Registration
    SPIE Logos and Name
  • Public Policy
  • Related Organizations
  • Jobs at SPIE
Print PageEmail Page

SPIE Members among new APS Fellows

Ten SPIE Fellows and Members are among those named as Fellows of the American Physical Society (APS) in 2008.

APS Fellowship candidates are nominated by division, topical group, or forum. SPIE Fellows and Members elected last year as APS Fellows and the groups making the nominations include:

SPIE Fellows:

George Kyrala, Los Alamos National Laboratory (Plasma Physics)
Seth Marder, Georgia Institute of Technology (Materials Physics)
Xiang Zhang, University of California, Berkeley (Industrial and Applied Physics).

SPIE Members:

Nader Engheta, University of Pennsylvania (Laser Science)
Shanhui Fan, Stanford University (Laser Science)
Carmen Menoni, Colorado State University (Laser Science)
Fan Ren, University of Florida (Industrial and Applied Physics)
James Ryan, University of New Hampshire (Astrophysics)
Gennady Shvets, University of Texas, Austin (Plasma Physics)
Sunney Xie, Harvard University (Biological Physics).