• About the Society
  • SPIE Altruism
  • Advocacy
  • Get Involved
  • International Day of Light
  • Awards Programs
  • Press Room
  • Press Releases
    SPIE Member News
    Event News
    Media Contacts
    Press Registration
    SPIE Logos and Name
  • Jobs at SPIE
Print PageEmail Page

SPIE Photonics West 2012 Award Photos

Awards recognizing research excellence and outstanding careers were presented at Photonics West 2012.

View event photo gallery.

View exhibition photo+video gallery.

View interviews and presentations on SPIEtv.

Read the event news.

For copies of any of the posted photographs, email media@spie.org.

Thursday 26 January

Photo of Fiber Laser Best Paper Awards
Best Student Oral Presentation Awards sponsored by NKT Photonics, Fianium, and PolarOnyx were awarded to three authors in the Fiber Lasers conference. From left to right are conference chair Eric Honea (Lockheed Martin Aculight), Arno Klenke (Friedrich-Schiller-Univ. Jena and Helmholtz-Institute Jena) who won third place including $300 for "Coherently combined fiber CPA system delivering 3-mJ femtosecond pulses," Marko Laurila (Technical Univ. of Denmark) who won second place including $500 for "Efficient high-power fiber amplifier utilizing single mode distributed mode filtering bandgap rod fiber," Florian Jansen (Friedrich-Schiller-Univ. Jena) who won first place including $1,000 for "26-mJ pulse energy Q-switched large-pitch fiber laser system with excellent beam quality," and conference committee chair Craig Robin (Air Force Research Lab).

Wednesday 25 January

Photo of Green Photonics Laser Award
The SPIE Green Photonics Award in the category Laser-assisted Manufacturing and Micro/Nano Fabrication was presented during the LASE plenary session for "Femtosecond laser doping and nanostructuring of silicon for photovoltaics" by Benjamin Franta, center, Meng-Ju Sher, Yu-Ting Lin, Katherine Phillips, far left, and Eric Mazur (Harvard University), for pioneering contributions in the development of advanced technologies for novel photovoltaic elements. The award was presented by Steve Eglash (Precourt Institute for Energy, Stanford University), chair of the Green Photonics virtual conference, far right.

Tuesday 24 January

SPIE Green Photonics awards were presented by Steve Eglash at the OPTO plenary session in three categories:

Photo of Solid State Lighting and Displays
Solid State Lighting and Displays, to "Infrared excited Yb: Er: Y2O2S phosphors with intense emission for lighting applications" by Gangadharan Ajith Kumar, (pictured), Madhab Pokhrel, and Dhiraj Sardar (University of Texas at San Antonio), for the possible application in infrared excited LED, lasers, and displays.

Photo of Green Communications
Communications, to "Energy-efficient VCSELs for 'green' data and computer communication" by Philip Moser (Technische Univ. Berlin), pictured; James A. Lott (VI Systems GmbH); Philip Wolf, Gunter Larisch, Alexey Payusov, and Gerrit Fiol (Technische Univ. Berlin); Nikolay Ledentsov (VI Systems GmbH); and Werner Hofmann and Dieter Bimberg (Technische Univ. Berlin), for pioneering contributions in the development of advanced technologies for energy-efficient light sources for data transmission.

Photo of Renewable Energy
Renewable Energy Generation: Fusion and Photovoltaics, to "Simulations of solar cell enhancement using whispering-gallery modes of dielectric nanospheres" by Jonathan Grandidier, (pictured), Dennis Callahan, Michael Deceglie, Jeremy Munday, and Harry Atwater (California Institute of Technology), for pioneering contributions in the development of advanced technologies for the enhancement of solar cell performance.

Monday 23 January

Photo of JenLab Young Investigator Award
The JenLab Young Investigator Award was presented at the Multiphoton Microscopy in the Biomedical Sciences XII conference by Peter So (Massachusetts Institute for Technology), far left, Ammasi Periasamy (Univ. of Virginia), far right, and Karsten König (JenLab GmbH), second from right, to Jesse W. Wilson, second from left, for his paper titled, "In-vivo pump-probe microscopy of melanoma and pigmented lesions." The $2000 prize was donated by JenLab GmbH.

Photo of JenLab Best Poster Awards
The JenLab Best Poster Awards were presented to award winners left to right, Evelien De Meulenaere (Katholieke Univ. Leuven), Gaël Latour (Ecole Polytechnique), Po-Yen Lin (National Yang-Ming Univ.) and Amanda P. Siegel (Indiana Univ.). The awards were presented by Ammasi Periasamy (Univ. of Virginia), far right, Karsten König (JenLab GmbH), far left, and Peter So (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), second from left . The winners each received a $500 cash prize donated by various award sponsors.

Photo of Myun-Sik Kim, one of two MOEMS-MIMS Best Paper Award winners
Symposium Chair Harald Schenk (Fraunhofer Institute for Photonic Microsystems), at left, and Symposium Cochair David Dickensheets (Montana State University), at right, presented Myun-Sik Kim (Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne), with one of two Best Paper Awards sponsored by Dyoptyka: another Best Paper Award went to Peter Buck (Toppan Photomasks). The Best Student Paper Award was sponsored by Vuzix and went to Daniel McAdams and Daniel Cole (University of Pittsburgh).

Sunday 22 January

Photo of Pascal Rol Award for Best Paper
The Pascal Rol Award for Best Paper was presented to Clemens Alt (center) for his presentation titled, "In vivo quantification of microglia dynamics with a scanning laser ophthalmoscope in a mouse model of focal laser injury." The award was presented by Ophthalmic Technologies XXII conference chairs Per Söderburg (Uppsala Univ.), third from left, Fabrice Manns (Univ. of Miami), second from right, and Arthur Ho (Brien Holden Vision Institute), third from right. They are joined by session chairs Daniel Palanker (Standford Univ.), far right, and Ezra Maguen (American Eye Institute), second from left. The Pascal Rol Award was sponsored by the Brien Holden Vision Institute.

The PicoQuant Young Investigator Award was awarded to Hsiaolu Lee (no photo available) for the presentation, "Fluorescent saxitoxins for live cell imaging of single voltage-gated sodium ion channels beyond the optical diffraction limit." The award was presented by Single Molecule Spectroscopy and Imaging IV Session Chair Zygmunt Karol Gryczynski, Univ. of North Texas Health Science Ctr. at Fort Worth. The $750 cash prize was donated by PicoQuant GmbH.

Photo of Ocean Optics Young Investigator Award
The Ocean Optics Young Investigator Award was presented to Nathan Withers (Univ. of New Mexico), second from right, for his paper titled, "Effects of LaF3:Ce nanoparticles capped with polyethylene glycol on human astrocytoma cells in vitro," at the Colloidal Nanocrystals for Biomedical Applications VII conference. The award was presented by Marek Osinski (Univ. of New Mexico), far left, Wolfgang Parak (Philipps-Univ. Marburg), second from left, and Kevin Chittim (Ocean Optics), far right . The prize consists of a $1,000 cash prize and $2,000 towards Ocean Optics Equiptment donated by Ocean Optics.