• About the Society
  • SPIE Altruism
  • Diversity
  • International Day of Light
  • Fellows and Senior Members
  • Awards Programs
  • Press Room
  • Press Releases
    SPIE Member News
    Event News
    Media Contacts
    Press Registration
    SPIE Logos and Name
  • Public Policy
  • Jobs at SPIE
Print PageEmail Page

Kujawinska and Harding named winners of SPIE Directors' and President's awards

Gold Medal for Charles Townes, other awards presented at annual banquet

10 August 2010

BELLINGHAM, Washington, USA -- Awards recognizing important contributions to SPIE by Past Presidents Malgorzata Kujawinska and Kevin Harding were announced at the Society's recent annual awards banquet during SPIE Optics and Photonics.Kevin Harding The awards and others honoring important research and science education accomplishments were presented by SPIE President Ralph James.

Harding, Principal Engineer/Optical Technology Leader at GE Global Research, received the 2010 SPIE President's Award in recognition of his contributions and dedication to SPIE in governance, industrial and global outreach, symposia, and educational activities.

Kujawinska,Malgorzata Kujawinska Professor of Applied Optics and Photonics at the Warsaw University of Technology, received the 2010 SPIE Directors' Award for her outstanding service to SPIE in many standing committees, as Director, and as SPIE President in 2005.

Other awards announced at the banquet were the Joseph Goodman Book Writing Award to Lihong Wang (Washington Univ. in St. Louis) and Hsin-I Wu (Texas A&M Univ.), Chandra Vikram Award in Optical Metrology to James Wyant (College of Optical Sciences, Univ. of Arizona), George Goddard Award to Moustafa Chahine (Jet Propulsion Lab), Dennis Gabor Award to Mitsuo Takeda (Univ. of Electro-Communications), Harold Edgerton Award to Gary Eden (Univ. of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign), Technology Achievement Award to Akhlesh Lakhtakia (Pensylvania State Univ.), Rudolph Kingslake Medal and Prize to Juergen Jahns, Hans Knuppertz, and Michael Bohling (FernUniv. in Hagen), SPIE Educator Award to Nicholas Massa (Springfield Technical Community College), and Early Career Achievement Award to Alberto Salleo (Stanford Univ.).

Charles Townes (Univ. of California, Berkeley) was awarded the Gold Medal of the Society, the highest honor the Society bestows, in recognition of his extraordinary foresight in seeing the potential of the laser and coherent light 50 years ago and other achievements.

SPIE presents several yearly awards that recognize outstanding individual and team technical accomplishments and meritorious service to the Society. SPIE urges you to nominate a colleague for his or her outstanding achievements. Nominations may be made through October 1 of any given year and are considered active for three years from the submission date. Visit SPIE.org/x1164.xml for instructions and nomination forms.

View SPIE 2010 award winners.

SPIE, the international society for optics and photonics, was founded in 1955 to advance light-based technologies. Serving more than 180,000 constituents from 168 countries, the Society advances emerging technologies through interdisciplinary information exchange, continuing education, publications, patent precedent, and career and professional growth. SPIE annually organizes and sponsors approximately 25 major technical forums, exhibitions, and education programs in North America, Europe, Asia, and the South Pacific, and supports scholarships, grants, and other education programs around the world.

# # # #

Stacey Crockett
Media Relations Coordinator
Tel: +1 360 685 5458
Twitter: SPIEtweets #SPIE
LinkedIn/SPIE Group