• About the Society
  • SPIE Altruism
  • Diversity
  • International Day of Light
  • Fellows and Senior Members
  • Awards Programs
  • Press Room
  • Press Releases
    SPIE Member News
    Event News
    Media Contacts
    Press Registration
    SPIE Logos and Name
  • Public Policy
  • Jobs at SPIE
Print PageEmail Page

SPIE awards, special events will recognize contributions to optics and photonics

SPIE Optics+Photonics

BELLINGHAM, WA, USA - 7 August 2008 - Outstanding contributions to SPIE and to the field of optics and photonics will be acknowledged with awards, a special session, and scholarship honorary announcements atthe SPIE Optics+Photonics Symposium in San Diego, CA, USA, next week. Announcements will be made at an annual awards banquet on Wednesday 13 August. New Fellows of SPIE will be named, along with winners of SPIE scholarships and Education and Outreach grants.

James A. Harrington will receive the 2008 Directors' Award in recognition of his remarkable dedication to SPIE, his valuable service on the Board of Directors and several SPIE committees, and his continued commitment to the growth and integrity of SPIE and contributions to the optical engineering community at large. Harrington is head of the Specialty Fiber Optics laboratory of the Ceramic and Materials Research Engineering Department at Rutgers University.

Robert A. Lieberman will receive the 2008 President's Award in recognition of his distinguished service and extraordinary leadership in building SPIE's Optics East symposium into one of the premier events for the scientific community, and of his continued dedication and commitment to conference quality with the transition of Optics East conferences to the Defense, Security, and Sensing symposium. Lieberman is President and Chief Technology Officer of Intelligent Optical Systems.

John Gille will receive the George W. Goddard winner in recognition of his outstanding research and significant accomplishments in building instruments and interpretation of results in the monitoring of the atmosphere, in particular on the High Resolution Dynamics Limb Sounder (HIRDLS). Gille is a principal investigator at the National Center for Atmospheric Research, University of Colorado.

Larry Dalton, George B. Kauffman Professor of Chemistry and Electrical Engineering at the University of Washington, will be honored with a special session in recognition of his influential work in nonlinear optic polymer electro-optic modulator materials and devices. Dalton will be given a Lifetime Achievement Award and Life Membership in SPIE. (Hear a brief audio interview in which Dalton talks about the award and about prospects for a wide adoption of photonics in our everyday lives: spie.org/documents/Newsroom/audio/LarryDaltonClip.wav).

A memorial tribute to Warren Smith will be presented at the awards banquet. Smith, widely regarded as one of the most influential leaders in the field of optical design and engineering, died at 85 on 19 June in California. Smith was an SPIE Fellow and Past President, and since 1987 had been at Rockwell Collins Kaiser Electro-Optics, where he was Chief Scientist Emeritus.

One of two scholarship name changes being announced this month reflects recognition of Smith's contributions. The William H. Price Scholarship has been renamed the Optical Design and Engineering Scholarship, with its scope expanded to recognize prominent individuals who have made significant contributions over their careers to the field of optical design and engineering, with emphasis on lens design. The scholarship now will honor both Price and Smith.

One of the Society's top scholarships has been renamed in honor of SPIE founding member John Kiel in recognition of his long-standing and significant contributions to the Society. An SPIE Fellow since 1977, Kiel has served as Treasurer and as chair and member of the Financial Advisory Committee. He helped support the Society financially in its early days and is a long-time SPIE exhibitor. He has supported SPIE's scholarship program as well as scholarship recipient travel through the Nakajima Scholarship program. Kiel is President of Photo-Sonics, Inc.

The John Kiel Scholarship winner will be selected from the general scholarship applicant pool based on prospects for long-term contribution to the field of optics and optical engineering, and will receive $10,000. The application deadline is 15 January 2009 and the winner will be announced in April 2009.