• About the Society
  • SPIE Altruism
  • International Day of Light
  • Fellows and Senior Members
  • Awards Programs
  • Press Room
  • Press Releases
    SPIE Member News
    Event News
    Press Kits and Fact Sheets
    PR Contacts
    RSS Collection
    SPIE Logos and Name
    Press Registration
  • Public Policy
  • Related Organizations
  • Jobs at SPIE
Print PageEmail Page

French research team awarded Rudolf Kingslake Medal and Prize by SPIE 

BELLINGHAM, WA, USA - 18 September 2008 - A group of five French researchers has won the 2007 Rudolf Kingslake Medal and Prize, awarded annually by SPIE for the most noteworthy original paper to appear in the SPIE journal Optical Engineering on the theoretical or experimental aspects of optical engineering. Award winners receive a plaque and honorarium of $2,000.

Monique Thual, Damien Malarde, Benoit Abhervé-Guégen, and Philippe Rochard of Université de Rennes 1, CNRS FOTON ENSSAT/CCLO, and Philippe Chanclou of France Télécom Division R&D will share the prize for their paper, "Truncated Gaussian beams through micro-lenses based on a graded index section." Published in the January 2007 issue of OE, the paper is recognized for its development of a simple and low-cost microlens for optical communication systems involving the coupling of laser diodes or inteMonique Thual and Philippe Rochardgrated waveguides to single-mode fibers and fiber-to-fiber interconnection.

Receiving an honorable mention were Alexander S. Koujelev and Alexander E. Dudelzak of the Canadian Space Agency, for their paper, "Double phase conjugation in a liquid crystal at 1.5 um for optical beam tracking,"published in the February 2007 issue of OE.

Articles from SPIE journals are published in the SPIE Digital Library and in print. For information about the SPIE Digital Library, see spie.org/x2836.xml, or access the library at spiedigitallibrary.com.

Photo captions: The five-person team winning the 2007 SPIE Kingslake Medal and Prize include, left to right, above, Monique Thual and Philippe Rochard; below, Benoit Abhervé-Guégen, Damien Malarde, and Philippe Chanclou.Philipe ChanclouDamien MalardeBenoit Abhervé-Guégen