• About the Society
  • SPIE Altruism
  • Advocacy
  • International Day of Light
  • Awards Programs
  • Press Room
  • Press Releases
    SPIE Member News
    Event News
    Media Contacts
    Press Registration
    SPIE Logos and Name
  • Jobs at SPIE
Print PageEmail Page

SPIE announces newly-elected 2008 Officers and Directors

Bellingham, Wash - September 10, 2007 - SPIE 2007 President, Brian Culshaw announced the recent election results at the Annual General Meeting of the Society, 28 August, 2007, in San Diego, California. Terms begin January 1, 2008.

The 2008 Society Officers:

Kevin G. Harding
was elected by SPIE members to serve as the 2008 President.  He is the senior researcher and project leader for the General Electric Global Research Center. Harding received his B.A. degree in Physics/Philosophy from Rider College, Lawrenceville, N.J., and his M.S. degree in Optics from the University of Rochester, Rochester, N.Y. Harding is an SPIE Fellow, and his technical interests include precision infrared ellipsometry and reflectometry to high speed vibration analysis of turbine structures using holography and Moiré techniques. Harding has served as conference chair or co-chair on 15 SPIE conferences on machine vision optics, 3D imaging, laser sensors, and opto-mechanical technology, and has contributed over 100 papers, including 3 trade journal articles and 6 book chapters in the area of optical inspection and measurement technology.

Maria J. Yzuel was elected by SPIE members to serve as the 2008 President-Elect.  Yzuel is a professor with the Department of Physics, Group of Optics, Universidad Autónoma de Barcelona (UAB), Spain. She received her Ph. D. in Physics from the Universidad of Zaragoza, Spain. An SPIE Fellow, she lists some of her technical interests as diffraction image theory, image quality evaluation, apodization, applications to photolithography optical pattern recognition, color information in correlators, design of filters and liquid crystal devices. Yzuel has published more than 200 scientific papers and presented about 20 invited papers and more than 200 regular contributions in scientific conferences. She has supervised 20 Ph.D. theses.

Ralph B. James was elected by SPIE members to serve as the 2008 Vice-President.  James is the associate laboratory director at the Brookhaven National Laboratory. He received his M.S. and Ph.D. degree in Applied Physics at the California Institute of Technology. An SPIE Fellow, he lists his technical interests as photonic and electro-optical instrumentation, sensors, imaging, lasers, laser processing of materials, nanotechnology, nonlinear optics, semiconductor detectors, and biomedical imaging. James has published over 400 journal articles, conference proceedings, book chapters and invited review papers, has 10 patents granted, and is the editor of 11 books on sensors, spectroscopy and imaging.

Brian A. Lula was elected by SPIE members to serve as the 2008 Secretary/Treasurer.  Lula is the president and CEO of PI Physik Instrumente LP. He graduated in mechanical engineering from Centennial College, Ontario, Canada, and completed advanced engineering courses at the University of Michigan. His technical interests include micro and nanopositioning technologies, telescope mechanical/optical system design and fabrication, astronomical imaging, optical manufacturing and testing. Lula is a world class CCD astronomical imager/educator with published photos in popular astronomy magazines such as Sky & Telescope, Astronomy, CBS National and local TV news, NASA's Astrophoto of the Day (APOD) and was featured in a personal exhibit at the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum in Washington DC. 

The newly elected Society Directors, three-year terms, 2008-2010:

Marta de la Fuente, group manager, Optical Design Group, Indra Systems.

Fernando Mendoza Santoyo, general director, Ctr de Investigaciones en Óptica.

Kathleen M. Perkins, chief executive officer, Breault Research Organization Inc.

David V. Wick, principle member of technical staff - optical engineer, Sandia National Labs.

Appointed Directors:

Ray O. Johnson, chief technology officer, Lockheed Martin Co.

Harry J. Levinson, manager, Strategic Lithography Technology, Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.