• About the Society
  • SPIE Altruism
  • Advocacy
  • International Day of Light
  • Awards Programs
  • Press Room
  • Press Releases
    SPIE Member News
    Event News
    Media Contacts
    Press Registration
    SPIE Logos and Name
  • Jobs at SPIE
Print PageEmail Page

SPIE Advanced Lithography 2008 sessions break attendance records

van den Brink receives Frits Zernike award

SPIE Advanced Lithography

BELLINGHAM, WA, USA - 29 February 2008 - Well-received content drew record attendance to sessions at the 33rd annual SPIE Advanced Lithography symposium in San Jose, California, 24-29 February.

"Attendees thought the technical content in the oral and the poster papers was excellent," said Symposium Chair Roxann Engelstad of the University of Wisconsin, Madison. She said that she and Symposium Cochair Christopher Progler of Photonics, Inc., heard highly positive feedback about the quality of the plenary speakers as well. "You know people are impressed when you see them taking notes in a plenary session."

Nearly 700 papers were presented in the five conferences.

Martin van den Brink of ASML Netherlands received the 2008 Frits Zernike in recognition of his pioneering contributions to the advancement of optical lithographic exposure tools. SPIE confers the Frits Zernike Award annually to honor outstanding accomplishments in microlithography, especially those furthering the development of semiconductor lithographic imaging solutionMartin van den Brink, left, accepts the 2008 Fritx Zernike Award from Roxan Engelstad.s. The award is sponsored by Cymer and ASML.

The eight new Fellows named were among a total of 72 new SPIE Fellows being promoted this year and announced in presentations at various SPIE events. The new promotions bring the total of SPIE Fellows from the Advanced Lithography community to 29, and include:

  • Christopher P. Ausschnitt, IBM Microelectronics Division
  • Peter De Groot, Zygo Corporation 
  • Elizabeth Dobisz, Hitachi Global Storage Technologies
  • Mircea Dusa, ASML U.S. Inc.
  • Winfried Kaiser, Carl Zeiss SMT AG
  • Shinji Okazaki, Hitachi Ltd.
  • Richard Silver, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
  • David Williamson, Nikon Research Corporation of America.

Fellows are members of distinction who have made significant scientific and technical contributions in the multidisciplinary fields of optics, photonics, and imaging. They are honored for their technical achievement, for their service to the general optics community, and to SPIE in particular.

The 2007 C. Grant Willson Best Paper Award was presented to a team of authors from IBM Almaden Research Center and IBM Semiconductor Research and Development CenWinners of the 2007 C. Grant Willson Award are congratulated by presenter Clifford Henderson, far right.ter for a paper on "Fluoro-alcohol materials with tailored interfacial properties for immersion lithography." Authors included Daniel Sanders, Linda Sundberg, Ratnam Sooriyakumaran, Philip Brock, Richard DiPietro, Hoa Truong, Dolores Miller, Margaret Lawson, and Robert Allen. The award was sponsored by AZ Electronic Materials, and presented by Conference Chair Clifford Henderson, Georgia Institute of Technology.

Authors Matthew Sendelbach and Javier Ayala, IBM Microelectronics Division, and Pedro Herrera, KLA Tencor, were awarded the 2007 Metrology, Inspection, and Process Control Best Paper Award by Conference Chair John A. Allgair, SEMATECH, Inc., and AdvanceFrom left, Christopher Raymond and John Allgair present the 2007 Metrology, Inspection, and Process Control Best Paper Award to Pedro Herrera and Matthew Sendelbach.d Microdevices, and Co-Chair Christopher J. Raymond, Nanometrics, Inc.The paper was titled, "Predicting electrical measurements by applying scatterometry to complex spacer structures."

Progler presented Engelstad wtith a Certificate of Appreciation on behalf of SPIE for her years of leadership of the symposium.

Daily on-site reports of the event are at spie.org/x23866.xml.


Photo captions, starting at top of page:

Martin van den Brink, ASML Netherlands, at left, is presented with the 2008 Frits Zernike Award in Microlithography by SPIE Advanced Lithography by Symposium Chair Roxann Engelstad, University of Wisconsin, Madison. Engelstad later was presented with a Certificate of Appreciation from SPIE in recognition of her years of leadership with the symposium.

From left, Ratnam Sooriyakumaran, Robert Allen, Phillip Brock, Hoa Truong, Linda Sundberg, and Daniel Sanders accept the 2007 C. Grant Willson Best Paper Award from Clifford Henderson, 2008 chair of the conference on Advances in Resist Materials and Processing Technology.

From left, Metrology, Inspection, and Process Control for Microlithography XXII Conference Co-Chair Christopher J. Raymond and Conference Chair John A. Allgair present the 2007 Best Paper Award to authors Pedro Herrera and Matthew Sendelbach.