• About the Society
  • SPIE Altruism
  • Advocacy
  • Get Involved
  • International Day of Light
  • Awards Programs
  • Press Room
  • Press Releases
    SPIE Member News
    Event News
    Media Contacts
    Press Registration
    SPIE Logos and Name
  • Jobs at SPIE
Print PageEmail Page

SPIE announces newly elected 2010 Officers and Directors

05 August 2009

San Diego, CA, USA - SPIE 2009 President Maria J. Yzuel announced the recent election results at the Annual General Meeting of the Society on 4 August 2009 in San Diego, CA, USA. Terms begin 1 January 2010.

The 2010 Society Officers:

Ralph B. James was elected by SPIE members to serve as the 2010 President. James is Program Manager and Senior Scientist for the Brookhaven National Laboratory. He received his M.S. and Ph.D. degree in Applied Physics at the California Institute of Technology. An SPIE Fellow, he lists his technical interests as photonic and electro-optical instrumentation, sensors, imaging, lasers, laser processing of materials, nanotechnology, nonlinear optics, semiconductor detectors, and biomedical imaging. James has published over 400 journal articles, conference proceedings, book chapters and invited review papers, has 10 patents granted, and is the editor of 13 books on sensors, spectroscopy and imaging.

Katarina Svanberg was elected by SPIE members to serve as the 2010 President Elect. Svanberg is Professor of Oncology and Chief Physician in Oncology at Lund University, Sweden. She received her M.D. and Ph.D. in Medical Science from Lund University. Svanberg is an SPIE Fellow, a recipient of the SKAPA Innovation Prize, and has given invited talks at over 85 international conferences and 30 foreign universities. She lists some of her technical interests as clinical oncology for the abatement of human malignant diseases and optical spectroscopy for detection and treatment of malignant tumors. She has supervised activities for a large number of Ph.D. students in biomedical optics.

Eustace N. Dereniak was elected by SPIE members to serve as the 2010 Vice-President. Dereniak is a professor at the College of Optical Sciences, University of Arizona. He received his MS in Electrical Engineering from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, and his PhD in Optical Sciences from the University of Arizona. Dereniak is an SPIE Fellow, and also serves on the SPIE Awards Committee. His technical interests include infrared detectors and 2-dimensional arrays, photodetector arrays, materials of detectors, and germanium vs. silicon. He received the Award of Distinction for Undergraduate Teaching from the University of Arizona College Of Optical Sciences in 2006, and has served as an SPIE Conference Chair in Infrared Detectors and Focal Plane Arrays, Infrared Photoelectronics, Semiconductor Photodetectors, Imaging Spectrometers, and Infrared Technology.

Brian A. Lula was elected by SPIE members to serve as the 2010 Secretary/Treasurer. Lula is the president and CEO of PI Physik Instrumente LP. He graduated in mechanical engineering from Centennial College, Ontario, Canada, and completed advanced engineering courses at the University of Michigan. His technical interests include micro and nanopositioning technologies, telescope mechanical/optical system design and fabrication, astronomical imaging, and optical manufacturing and testing. Lula is a world class CCD astronomical imager/educator with published photos in popular astronomy magazines such as Sky & Telescope, Astronomy, CBS National and local TV news, NASA's Astrophoto of the Day (APOD) and was featured in a personal exhibit at the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum in Washington DC.

The newly elected Society Directors; three-year term, 2010-2012:

Katarzyna Chalasinska-Macukow; Professor of Physics (optics); Rector of University of Warsaw.

Robert A. Lieberman; President and CTO, Intelligent Optical Systems, Inc.

Ralph P. Tatam; Dean of the Faculty of Engineering and Aerospace, and Professor of Engineering Photonics, Cranfield University.

Bruce J. Tromberg; Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Surgery, University of California, Irvine, and Director, Beckman Laser Institute and Medical Clinic.

(Photos are available on request)


Media contact:
Stacey Crockett
Media Relations Coordinator
+1 360 685 5458