• About the Society
  • SPIE Altruism
  • International Day of Light
  • Fellows and Senior Members
  • Awards Programs
  • Press Room
  • Press Releases
    SPIE Member News
    Event News
    Press Kits and Fact Sheets
    PR Contacts
    RSS Collection
    SPIE Logos and Name
    Press Registration
  • Public Policy
  • Related Organizations
  • Jobs at SPIE
Print PageEmail Page

SPIE Defense, Security, and Sensing 2011 Photo Gallery

25-29 April 2011
Orlando World Center Marriott Resort & Convention Center, Orlando, Florida.

To request copies of any of the posted photographs, email your request to media@spie.org.

Monday Conferences

From left, Session Chair Nibir Dhar (DARPA), Manijeh Razeghi (Northwestern Univ.) holding a demonstration 1.6-W portable IR QCL operating at room temperature, and SPIE Photonics West session chair Ferechte Teherani (Nanovation).

Coffee break

SPIE Fellows luncheon

Welcome Reception

Imaging Gallery at the Welcome Reception
Hosted by StingRay Optics and SPIE

FLIR Obstacle Course at the Welcome Reception
Attendees drove FLIR's unmanned vehicles through an obstacle course; FLIR team (in black) broadcast the heats on a giant screen in the reception hall.

Plenary Session, Tuesday morning
Dr. Regina Dugan, Director, DARPA, describes technology challenges

(l-r) William Jeffrey (Symposium Chair, HRL Labs), Kevin Meiners (Symposium Cochair, Office of the Secretary of Defense), Regina Dugan (Director, DARPA), Eustace Dereniak (Univ. of Arizona College of Optical Sciences, SPIE President Elect).

Harnessing Light 2 town hall

Paul McManamon (Air Force Research Lab, Rtd.), cochair of the National Academy of Engineering "Harnessing Light 2" study on the photonics industry, announced a town-hall discussionlater in the week on study directions.


Job Fair

Student Lunch

Women in Optics Presentation

Poster Session

Wednesday Exhibition

Panel Sessions and Track Plenaries

Banquet and Awards
General James E. Cartwright, Vice-Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, was honored with the DSS Lifetime Achievement Award

New SPIE Fellows inducted at the banquet

Prof. Susan Davis Allen, Arkansas State University, United States, for achievements in laser processing of materials and devices

Prof. Fredric Marvin Ham, Florida Institute of Technology, United States, for achievements in bio-optic sensor systems

Dr. Sanjay Krishna, Center for High Technology Materials, United States, for achievements in quantum dot-in-a-well and strained layer superlattice infrared photodetectors

Dr. Kalluri Sarma, Honeywell Technology, United States, for achievements in electronic displays, including AM LCDs, AM OLEDs and flexible displays

Dr. Alexander Toet, TNO Defence Security and Safety, Netherlands, for achievements in image fusion and digital image processing

Read the daily report from on-site.

SPIE, the international society for optics and photonics, was founded in 1955 to advance light-based technologies. Serving more than 180,000 constituents from 168 countries, the Society advances emerging technologies through interdisciplinary information exchange, continuing education, publications, patent precedent, and career and professional growth. SPIE annually organizes and sponsors approximately 25 major technical forums, exhibitions, and education programs in North America, Europe, Asia, and the South Pacific, and supports scholarships, grants, and other education programs around the world.

Connect with SPIE