• About the Society
  • SPIE Altruism
  • International Year of Light
  • Fellows and Senior Members
  • Awards Programs
  • Award Listing
    Current Award Winners
    Awards Nomination Criteria
    Awards Nomination Form
    Attend Awards Banquet
    Banquet Photo Gallery
  • Press Room
  • Public Policy
  • Related Organizations
  • Jobs at SPIE
Print PageEmail Page

Harold E. Edgerton Award

The Harold E. Edgerton Award is presented annually for outstanding contributions to optical or photonic techniques in the application and understanding of high speed physical phenomena. The development of new technologies and the new application of existing technologies shall be considered in the determination of the award. Honorarium $2,000.

Christopher P. J. Barty, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, Livermore, California, USA, is the 2016 recipient of the Harold E. Edgerton Award in recognition of his efforts in the development of foundational techniques that have enabled ultrafast intense lasers, and for pioneering contributions to time-resolved, x-ray and gamma-ray science conducted with such lasers.

Previous Recipients of the Harold E. Edgerton Award

2014 - Jeffrey Squier
2013 - Martin C. Richardson
2012 - Luke Lester
2011 - Daniel James Kane
2010 - J. Gary Eden
2006 - T. Goji Etoh
2003 - Alexandry Aciu
2002 - George A. Kyrala
2001 - Peter W. W. Fuller
2000 - Robert G. Root
1999 - Rick P. Trebino
1998 - Experimental Dynamics Imaging Team, Air Force Research Laboratory
1997 - Gerard A. Mourou
1996 - Manfred Hugenschmidt
1995 - Alan M. Frank
1994 - George J. Yates
1993 - Robert D. Shoberg
1992 - Ravinder K. Jain
1991 - Robert P. Murkshe
1990 - Charles V. Shank
1989 - Erich P. Ippen

Read more about Harold E. "Doc" Edgerton

2014 - Jeffrey Squier

The SPIE Awards Committee has made this recommendation in recognition of his seminal contributions to femtosecond lasers and amplifiers, laser filamentation, ultrafast spectroscopy, femtosecond micromachining, ophthalmic procedures with ultrafast lasers, and high-speed nonlinear optical microscopy.

SPIE Professional July 2014

SPIE Profile

2013 - Martin C. Richardson

The SPIE Awards Committee has made this recommendation in recognition of his significant contributions to the field of high-speed diagnostics of transient dense-plasmas.

SPIE Professional July 2013

SPIE Profile

2012 - Luke Lester

The SPIE Awards Committee has made this recommendation in recognition of his pioneering contributions to the development, characterization, and integration of quantum-dot, mode-locked lasers as high-speed optical sources.

SPIE Professional July 2012

SPIE Profile

2011 - Daniel James Kane

The SPIE Awards Committee has made this recommendation in recognition his contributions to the characterization and application of ultrashort light pulses, including the realization of time-domain retrieval of amplitude and phase using frequency-resolved optical gating (FROG).

SPIE Professional July 2011

SPIE Profile

2010 - J. Gary Eden

The SPIE Awards Committee has made this recommendation in recognition of his major contributions in demonstrating optical techniques for observing physical phenomena, including his seminal work in atomic, molecular and ultra fast spectroscopy.

SPIE Press