• About the Society
  • SPIE Altruism
  • International Year of Light
  • Fellows and Senior Members
  • Awards Programs
  • Award Listing
    Current Award Winners
    Awards Nomination Criteria
    Awards Nomination Form
    Attend Awards Banquet
  • Press Room
  • Public Policy
  • Related Organizations
  • Jobs at SPIE
Print PageEmail Page

Current Award Winners

Each year SPIE recognizes outstanding achievements through its awards program. The Awards Committee is pleased to announce the 2016 SPIE Award recipients.

Paras N Prasad, Executive Director, Institute for Lasers, Photonics and Biophotonics, State University of New York at Buffalo, Buffalo, New York, USA, is the 2016 recipient of the Gold Medal Award in recognition of his numerous, world renowned, pioneering contributions to nonlinear optics, nanophotonics and biophotonics, as well as over three decades of outstanding service to SPIE. 

SPIE Profile

David Alan Boas, of Harvard University in Charlestown, Massachusetts, is the 2016 recipient of the SPIE Britton Chance Biomedical Award.  SPIE presents this award in recognition of his  development, application, and dissemination of near infrared spectroscopy and imaging for imaging breast cancer and the functioning brain, and for his perseverance in developing several innovative microscopic methods to further advance our knowledge of cerebral physiology.

SPIE Profile

Lacy Cook, Raytheon Missile Systems, Tuscon, AZ, USA, is the 2016 recipient of the A.E. Conrady Award in recognition of his efforts in advancing the realm of reflective design forms over the course of more than thirty years of experience in the design of optical systems. 

Christopher P. J. Barty, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, Livermore, California, USA, is the 2016 recipient of the Harold E. Edgerton Award in recognition of his efforts in the development of foundational techniques that have enabled ultrafast, intense lasers and for pioneering contributions to time-resolved, x-ray and gamma-ray science conducted with such lasers.

Ting-Chung Poon, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, Blacksburg, Virginia, USA, is the 2016 winner of the Dennis Gabor Award in recognition of his pioneering contributions to optical scanning holography (OSH), which has contributed significantly to the development of novel digital holography and 3-D Imaging.

SPIE Profile

Supriya Chakrabarti, University of Massachusetts, Lowell, Lowell, Massachusetts, USA, is the 2016 recipient of the George W. Goddard Award in recognition of his efforts as an innovative scientist, a visionary physicist, a scholar of extraordinary insight, and as an extraordinary role model.

SPIE Profile

The Rudolf Kingslake Medal recipients

The 2014 Rudolf Kingslake Medal and Prize is awarded to Stefan Heist, Andreas Mann, Peter Kühmstedt, Peter Schreiber and Gunther Notni of Fraunhofer - IOF, Jena, Germany, for their paper titled "Array projection of aperiodic sinusoidal fringes for high-speed three-dimensional shape measurement," published in the November 2014 issue of Optical Engineering.  

"The Kingslake Award Committee recognizes this paper for demonstrating the development of a new paradigm-an array projector for 3-D shape measurements. The proposed method enables much higher projection frame rates in the high kilohertz range and demonstrates acquisition of 3-D frames at hundreds per second. This new method will allow monitoring of the topography and shape of 3-D objects at high speeds and will enable dynamic measurements."  Tomasz Tkaczyk, Kingslake Committee Chair

Shui-Chih Alan Lien, ShenZhen Star Optoelectronic Technology Co Ltd, Shenzhen, Guangdong, China, is the 2016 recipient of the G.G. Stokes Award in recognition of his contributions to develop extended Jones matrix formulation which has been widely used to calculate the polarization change through each layer and electro-optic effects of a liquid crystal display device.

James D. Trolinger, MetroLaser Inc., Laguna Hills, California, USA is the 2016 recipient of the Chandra S. Vikram Award in recognition of his pioneering development and fielding of laser-based, state-of-the-art, optical diagnostic methods.

SPIE Profile

Yan Borodovsky, Portland, Oregon, USA is the 2016 recipient of the Frits Zernike Award for Microlithography in recognition of his efforts towards the advancement of multi-generational lithography process solutions and as a key contributor of patterning approaches and layout design rules at Intel. 

SPIE Profile

SPIE Newsroom article

Jie Yao, University of California, Berkeley, California, USA, is the 2016 recipient of the Early Career Achievement Award - Academic focus - in recognition of his contributions to the investigation of light matter interaction at deep subwavelength scale and development of optical materials for nanophotonic applications.

SPIE Profile

Homan Yuen, NewGen Venture Partners, Palo Alto, California, USA, is the 2016 recipient of the Early Career Achievement Award - Industry focus- in recognition of his efforts in the advancement of the dilute nitride semiconductor materials system and commercialization of world-record multi-junction solar cells.

SPIE Profile

Cheng Chung (C.C.) Lee, National Central University, Chung-Li Taoyuan, Taiwan, is the 2016 Educator Award winner in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the growth of the Institute of Optical Sciences and the Department of Optics and Photonics at the National Central University in Taiwan, advances in the science and engineering of optical thin films and coatings by mentoring students and industry personnel, and inspiring high school students to study optics and photonics.

Kent D. Choquette, University of Illinois, Urbana, Illinois, USA, is the 2016 recipient of the Technology Achievement Award for contributions to the development of high performance vertical cavity surface emitting lasers, particularly the invention of the practical oxide-confined VCSEL which has been widely deployed in data communication optical links within the internet, data centers, and supercomputer applications.

SPIE Profile

The 2015 President's Award is presented to Eustace Dereniak, Univversity of Arizona, Tuscon, Arizona, for his service to SPIE and the greater optics and photonics community, through a lifetime involvement in education, research and development encompassing industry, academia, and government science,

The 2015 Directors’ Award is presented to Jim Oschmann, Ball Aerospace & Technologies Corporation, Boulder, Colorado, USA, in appreciation of his service to SPIE, the astronomy community, and the greater optics community in general.

Valery Tuchin, is the 2016 recipient of the Joseph W. Goodman Book Writing Award for Tissue Optics: Light Scattering Methods and Instruments for Medical Diagnosis, 3rd ed., published by SPIE Press in 2015.

Professor Tuchin will accept the award at SPIE Photonics Europe in April 2016.

Recognize outstanding achievement