Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Improving laser material processing objective lenses towards better utilization of high brilliance light sources
Author(s): Lutz Reichmann; Hans-Jürgen Feige; Jürgen Finster; Matthias Bening; Jörg Wunderlich; Peter Triebel; Helmut Bernitzki; Uwe Schuhmann
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Today’s high brilliance Laser sources cause huge thermal effects on optical components, affecting process stability. This paper shows the holistic approach to the improvement of objective lenses to minimum thermal effects as focus shift. A new approach to the transient simulation of thermal behavior, starting with FEM Analysis, analytical description of surface deformation and refraction index distribution resulting in transient plot of image quality changes by optics design simulation. Optics material selection and characterization of bulk material, surface and coating by newly developed measurement techniques is shown. The optimum setting of opto-mechanical design, material selection, surface finish and coating allows to produce lenses with focus shift by 0,05times the Rayleigh range @1064nm, 4kW multimode at reasonable price.

Paper Details

Date Published: 18 December 2012
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 8550, Optical Systems Design 2012, 85500I (18 December 2012); doi: 10.1117/12.981341
Show Author Affiliations
Lutz Reichmann, JENOPTIK Optical Systems GmbH (Germany)
Hans-Jürgen Feige, JENOPTIK Optical Systems GmbH (Germany)
Jürgen Finster, JENOPTIK Optical Systems GmbH (Germany)
Matthias Bening, JENOPTIK Optical Systems GmbH (Germany)
Jörg Wunderlich, JENOPTIK Optical Systems GmbH (Germany)
Peter Triebel, JENOPTIK Optical Systems GmbH (Germany)
Helmut Bernitzki, JENOPTIK Optical Systems GmbH (Germany)
Uwe Schuhmann, JENOPTIK Optical Systems GmbH (Germany)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 8550:
Optical Systems Design 2012
Laurent Mazuray; Daniel G. Smith; Jean-Luc M. Tissot; Tina E. Kidger; Frank Wyrowski; Stuart David; Rolf Wartmann; Jeffrey M. Raynor; Andrew P. Wood; Pablo Benítez; Andreas Erdmann; Marta C. de la Fuente, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top