Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Lightweight stable sandwich mirrors: current achievements in the development
Author(s): G. Harbach; A. Herren; Th. Hausner; E. Rugi Grond; J. J. Fermé
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

RUAG Space, together with THALES SESO, initiated the development of light weighted sandwich structures for optical applications, already some years ago. The results of the use of this type of structure applied for optical benches and the first outlook for their use as mirror substrates were published in previous papers. This paper is going to present the results of the polishing activities performed on a 650 mm diameter mirror manufactured with Zerodur face sheets and a low density aluminum core. This substrate showed a mass density of 15 kg/m2. The excellent optical quality achieved proves the suitability of this technology for several applications, in particular for scanning mirrors for space and possibly for moveable mirror in ground based astronomical telescopes. With the emerging need for extremely high flatness under thermal loads (radius of curvature < 400km) activities have been initiated to identify materials for the core of the substrate closer matching the extremely low CTE offered by materials like Zerodur. The progresses made in this field are presented and an outlook for future activities is provided.

Paper Details

Date Published: 18 December 2012
PDF: 7 pages
Proc. SPIE 8550, Optical Systems Design 2012, 855015 (18 December 2012); doi: 10.1117/12.981197
Show Author Affiliations
G. Harbach, RUAG Space AG (Switzerland)
A. Herren, RUAG Space AG (Switzerland)
Th. Hausner, RUAG Space AG (Switzerland)
E. Rugi Grond, RUAG Space AG (Switzerland)
J. J. Fermé, Thales - Société Européenne de Systèmes Optiques (France)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 8550:
Optical Systems Design 2012
Laurent Mazuray; Daniel G. Smith; Jean-Luc M. Tissot; Tina E. Kidger; Frank Wyrowski; Stuart David; Rolf Wartmann; Jeffrey M. Raynor; Andrew P. Wood; Pablo Benítez; Andreas Erdmann; Marta C. de la Fuente, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top