Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Temperature compensated, humidity insensitive, high-Tg TOPAS FBGs for accelerometers and microphones
Author(s): A. Stefani; W. Yuan; C. Markos; H. K. Rasmussen; S. Andresen; R. Guastavino; F. K. Nielsen; B. Rose; O. Jespersen; N. Herholdt-Rasmussen; O. Bang
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

In this paper we present our latest work on Fiber Bragg Gratings (FBGs) in microstructured polymer optical fibers (mPOFs) and their application as strain sensing transducers in devices, such as accelerometers and microphones. We demonstrate how the cross-sensitivity of the FBG to temperature is eliminated by using dual-FBG technology and how mPOFs fabricated from different grades of TOPAS with glass transition temperatures around 135°C potentially allow high-temperature humidity insensitive operation. The results bring the mPOF FBG closer to being a viable technology for commercial applications requiring high sensitivity due to the low Young's Modulus of polymer.

Paper Details

Date Published: 17 October 2012
PDF: 10 pages
Proc. SPIE 8421, OFS2012 22nd International Conference on Optical Fiber Sensors, 84210Y (17 October 2012); doi: 10.1117/12.977859
Show Author Affiliations
A. Stefani, Technical Univ. of Denmark (Denmark)
W. Yuan, Singapore Institute of Manufacturing Technology (Singapore)
C. Markos, Univ. of Patras (Greece)
H. K. Rasmussen, Technical Univ. of Denmark (Denmark)
S. Andresen, Brüel & Kjær Sound & Vibration Measurement A/S (Denmark)
R. Guastavino, Brüel & Kjær Sound & Vibration Measurement A/S (Denmark)
F. K. Nielsen, Brüel & Kjær Sound & Vibration Measurement A/S (Denmark)
B. Rose, Ibsen Photonics A/S (Denmark)
O. Jespersen, Ibsen Photonics A/S (Denmark)
N. Herholdt-Rasmussen, Ibsen Photonics A/S (Denmark)
O. Bang, Technical Univ. of Denmark (Denmark)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 8421:
OFS2012 22nd International Conference on Optical Fiber Sensors
Yanbiao Liao; Wei Jin; David D. Sampson; Ryozo Yamauchi; Youngjoo Chung; Kentaro Nakamura; Yunjiang Rao, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top