Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper • Open Access

National Student Solar Spectrograph Competition overview
Author(s): Randal M. Larimer; Angela DesJardins; Joseph A. Shaw; Charles C. Kankelborg; Christopher Palmer; Larry Springer; Joey Key; W. Berk Knighton; Kevin S. Repasky; Nathan J. Pust; Mitchell K. Hobish; Edmond W. Wilson Jr.; Carrie Fitzgerald; Ryan Fitzgerald; Thomas Trickel; Clyde Jensen; Skye Dorsett; Matt Anderson; Jim Boger; Nate McCrady; Jaylene Naylor; Laurie Battle

Paper Abstract

The yearly National Student Solar Spectrograph Competition (NSSSC) is Montana Space Grant Consortium's Education and Public Outreach (EP/O) Program for NASA's Interface Region Imaging Spectrograph (IRIS) mission. The NSSSC is designed to give schools with less aerospace activity such as Minority Serving Institutions and Community Colleges an opportunity for hands on real world research experience. The NSSSC provides students from across the country the opportunity to work as part of an undergraduate interdisciplinary team to design, build and test a ground based solar spectrograph. Over the course of nine months, teams come up with their own science goals and then build an instrument to collect data in support of their goals. Teams then travel to Bozeman, MT to demonstrate their instruments and present their results in a competitive science fair environment. This paper and poster will discuss the 2011-2012 competition along with results as well as provide information on the 2012 -2013 competition opportunities.

Paper Details

Date Published: 15 October 2012
PDF: 15 pages
Proc. SPIE 8481, Optics Education and Outreach II, 84810Z (15 October 2012); doi: 10.1117/12.965323
Show Author Affiliations
Randal M. Larimer, Montana Space Grant Consortium (United States)
Angela DesJardins, Montana Space Grant Consortium (United States)
Joseph A. Shaw, Montana State Univ. (United States)
Charles C. Kankelborg, Montana State Univ. (United States)
Christopher Palmer, Richardson Gratings (United States)
Larry Springer, Montana State Univ. (United States)
Joey Key, Montana Space Grant Consortium (United States)
W. Berk Knighton, Montana State Univ. (United States)
Kevin S. Repasky, Montana State Univ. (United States)
Nathan J. Pust, Montana State Univ. (United States)
Mitchell K. Hobish, Sciential Consulting LLC (United States)
Edmond W. Wilson Jr., Harding Univ. (United States)
Carrie Fitzgerald, Montgomery College (United States)
Ryan Fitzgerald, Montgomery College (United States)
Thomas Trickel, Salish Kootenai College (United States)
Clyde Jensen, Mt. Hood Community College (United States)
Skye Dorsett, Mt. Hood Community College (United States)
Matt Anderson, San Diego State Univ. (United States)
Jim Boger, Flathead Valley Community College (United States)
Nate McCrady, The Univ. of Montana (United States)
Jaylene Naylor, The Univ. of Montana (United States)
Laurie Battle, Montana Tech (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 8481:
Optics Education and Outreach II
G. Groot Gregory, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top