Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

On The Path To A Terawatt: High Power Microwave Experiments At Aurora'
Author(s): A Bromborsky; F Agee; M Bollen; J Cameron; C Clark; H Davis; W Destler; S Graybill; G Huttlin; D Judy; R Kehs; R Kribel; L Libelo; J Pasour; N Pereira; J. Rogers; M. Rubush; B. Ruth; C. Schlesiger; E. Sherwood; L. Smutek; G. Still; L. Thode; D. Weidenheimer
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

The Aurora electron-beam generator driving a reflex diode has produced the largest single microwave pulse measured in the laboratory to date (early 1988). In this experiment up to 374 J per pulse is extracted from the device into two radial waveguides. The maximum peak power is 22 GW obtained in a single narrow spike; the peak average power is 9 GW over 20 ns. The power flux through the 0.061-m2 area of the two WR975 waveguides is 145 GW/m2, four times the flux once thought to be present in a previous experiment'. In many aspects the experimental results agree with simulation predictions. This paper discusses the recent measurements and indicates directions for further developments with the potential for terawatt peak RF power pulses.

Paper Details

Date Published: 9 May 1988
PDF: 11 pages
Proc. SPIE 0873, Microwave and Particle Beam Sources and Propagation, (9 May 1988); doi: 10.1117/12.965080
Show Author Affiliations
A Bromborsky, Mission Research Corporation (United States)
F Agee, Mission Research Corporation (United States)
M Bollen, Mission Research Corporation (United States)
J Cameron, Berkeley Research Associates (United States)
C Clark, Sandia National Laboratories (United States)
H Davis, Berkeley Research Associates (United States)
W Destler, Sandia National Laboratories (United States)
S Graybill, Auburn University (United States)
G Huttlin, Auburn University (United States)
D Judy, Auburn University (United States)
R Kehs, Auburn University (United States)
R Kribel, Auburn University (United States)
L Libelo, Mission Research Corporation (United States)
J Pasour, Mission Research Corporation (United States)
N Pereira, Berkeley Research Associates (United States)
J. Rogers, University of Maryland (United States)
M. Rubush, Sandia National Laboratories (United States)
B. Ruth, Harry Diamond Laboratories (United States)
C. Schlesiger, Harry Diamond Laboratories (United States)
E. Sherwood, Los Alamos National Laboratories (United States)
L. Smutek, Mission Research Corporation (United States)
G. Still, Harry Diamond Laboratories (United States)
L. Thode, Los Alamos National Laboratories (United States)
D. Weidenheimer, Berkeley Research Associates (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 0873:
Microwave and Particle Beam Sources and Propagation
Norman Rostoker, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top