Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

The Exoplanet Characterization Observatory (EChO): performance model EclipseSim and applications
Author(s): Roy van Boekel; Björn Benneke; Kevin Heng; Renyu Hu; Nikku Madhusudhan; Sascha Quanz; Yan Bétrémieux; Jeroen Bouwman; Guo Chen; Leen Decin; Remco de Kok; Adrian Glauser; Manuel Güdel; Peter Hauschildt; Thomas Henning; Sandra Jeffers; Sheng Jin; Lisa Kaltenegger; Franz Kerschbaum; Oliver Krause; Helmut Lammer; Armin Luntzer; Michael Meyer; Yamila Miguel; Christoph Mordasini; Roland Ottensamer; Theresa Rank-Lueftinger; Ansgar Reiners; Timo Reinhold; Hans Martin Schmid; Ignas Snellen; Daphne Stam; Zhao Sun; Bart Vandenbussche
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

We present EclipseSim, a radiometric model for exoplanet transit spectroscopy that allows easy exploration of the fundamental performance limits of any space-based facility aiming to perform such observations. It includes a library of stellar model atmosphere spectra and can either approximate exoplanet spectra by simplified models, or use any theoretical or observed spectrum, to simulate observations. All calculations are done in a spectrally resolved fashion and the contributions of the various fundamental noise sources are budgeted separately, allowing easy assessment of the dominant noise sources, as a function of wavelength. We apply EclipseSim to the Exoplanet Characterization Observatory (EChO), a proposed mission dedicated to exoplanet transit spectroscopy that is currently in competition for the M3 launch slot of ESA’s cosmic vision programme. We show several case studies on planets with sizes in the super-Earth to Jupiter range, and temperatures ranging from the temperate to the ≈1500K regime, demonstrating the power and versatility of EChO. EclipseSim is publicly available.*

Paper Details

Date Published: 27 September 2012
PDF: 21 pages
Proc. SPIE 8442, Space Telescopes and Instrumentation 2012: Optical, Infrared, and Millimeter Wave, 84421F (27 September 2012); doi: 10.1117/12.926794
Show Author Affiliations
Roy van Boekel, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Björn Benneke, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (United States)
Kevin Heng, Institute for Astronomy, ETH Zürich (Switzerland)
Renyu Hu, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (United States)
Nikku Madhusudhan, Yale Univ. (United States)
Sascha Quanz, Institute for Astronomy, ETH Zürich (Switzerland)
Yan Bétrémieux, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Jeroen Bouwman, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Guo Chen, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Leen Decin, Institute of Astronomy, Katholieke Univ. Leuven (Belgium)
Remco de Kok, SRON Netherlands Institute for Space Research (Netherlands)
Adrian Glauser, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Manuel Güdel, Univ. of Vienna (Austria)
Peter Hauschildt, Hamburger Sternwarte (Germany)
Thomas Henning, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Sandra Jeffers, Institut für Astrophysik Göttingen (Germany)
Sheng Jin, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Lisa Kaltenegger, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Harvard-Smithsonian Ctr. for Astrophysics (United States)
Franz Kerschbaum, Univ. of Vienna (Austria)
Oliver Krause, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Helmut Lammer, Institut für Weltraumforschung (Austria)
Armin Luntzer, Univ. of Vienna (Austria)
Michael Meyer, Institute for Astronomy, ETH Zürich (Switzerland)
Yamila Miguel, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Christoph Mordasini, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Roland Ottensamer, Univ. of Vienna (Austria)
Theresa Rank-Lueftinger, Univ. of Vienna (Austria)
Ansgar Reiners, Institut für Astrophysik Göttingen (Germany)
Timo Reinhold, Institut für Astrophysik Göttingen (Germany)
Hans Martin Schmid, Institute for Astronomy, ETH Zürich (Switzerland)
Ignas Snellen, Leiden Observatory, Leiden Univ. (Netherlands)
Daphne Stam, SRON Netherlands Institute for Space Research (Netherlands)
Zhao Sun, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Bart Vandenbussche, Institute of Astronomy, Katholieke Univ. Leuven (Belgium)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 8442:
Space Telescopes and Instrumentation 2012: Optical, Infrared, and Millimeter Wave
Mark C. Clampin; Giovanni G. Fazio; Howard A. MacEwen; Jacobus M. Oschmann Jr., Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top