Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Deploying the testbed for the VLT adaptive optics facility: ASSIST
Author(s): Remko Stuik; Paolo La Penna; Christophe Dupuy; Menno de Haan; Robin Arsenault; Wilfried Boland; Eddy Elswijk; Rik ter Horst; Norbert Hubin; Pierre-Yves Madec; Frank Molster; Emiel Wiegers
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

The ESO Very Large Telescope Adaptive Optics Facility (VLT-AOF) will transform the VLT Unit Telescope 4 to an Adaptive Telescope. In absence of an intermediate focus before the Adaptive Secondary in this Ritchey–Chrétien type telescope and in order to reduce the testing and calibration of the system on-sky, ASSIST, The Adaptive Secondary Setup and Instrument STimulator, was developed. It provides an off-sky testing facility for the ESO AOF and will provide a full testing environment for three elements of the VLT Adaptive Optics Facility: the Deformable Secondary Mirror (DSM) and the AO modules for MUSE and HAWK-I (GALACSI and GRAAL). ASSIST was delivered to ESO Garching, where it was assembled and tested. Currently ASSIST is being integrated with the Deformable Secondary Mirror, the first step in the full system testing of the two AO systems for the VLT AOF on ASSIST. This paper briefly reviews the design and properties of ASSIST and reports on the first results of ASSIST in stand-alone mode.

Paper Details

Date Published: 13 September 2012
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 8447, Adaptive Optics Systems III, 84473A (13 September 2012); doi: 10.1117/12.926049
Show Author Affiliations
Remko Stuik, Leiden Observatory (Netherlands)
NOVA-ASTRON (Netherlands)
Paolo La Penna, European Southern Observatory (Germany)
Christophe Dupuy, European Southern Observatory (Germany)
Menno de Haan, NOVA-ASTRON (Netherlands)
Robin Arsenault, European Southern Observatory (Germany)
Wilfried Boland, NOVA (Netherlands)
Eddy Elswijk, NOVA-ASTRON (Netherlands)
Rik ter Horst, NOVA-ASTRON (Netherlands)
Norbert Hubin, European Southern Observatory (Germany)
Pierre-Yves Madec, European Southern Observatory (Germany)
Frank Molster, NOVA (Netherlands)
Emiel Wiegers, Leiden Observatory (Netherlands)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 8447:
Adaptive Optics Systems III
Brent L. Ellerbroek; Enrico Marchetti; Jean-Pierre Véran, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top