Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

The thermal control system of the X-ray telescope eROSITA on Spektrum-Roentgen-Gamma
Author(s): Maria Fürmetz; Josef Eder; Elmar Pfeffermann; Peter Predehl; Lars Tiedemann
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

The X-ray telescope eROSITA is the main instrument besides the Russian ART-XC on the Spektrum-Rontgen-Gamma mission. Starting from 2014, an all-sky survey will be performed in the range between 0.3-10keV, followed by pointed observations. The main objective of thismission is the detection of 100 0000 galaxy clusters in order to constrain cosmological parameters, amongst others the density distribution and evolution of dark energy. Due to the minimum lifetime of seven years the thermal control system has to be completely passive without any consumables. With the ideal operational temperature of the CCD cameras being between 173K and 183K, this requires a very effective heat rejection system, consisting of a complex heat pipe system and a good thermal insulation. Simultaneously, a very sensitive temperature control via variable conductance heat pipes is implemented. For special outgassing requirements at the betinning of the mission these heat pipes are not working after launch but can be switched on any time. On the other hand the mirror moduules have to be tempered at room temperature and more than 200W of the electronics have to be dissipated without affecting the surrounding components or the satellite structure. The thermal control system has to be able to keep up the required temperature range and has to guarantee the optimum working conditions for all parts of the instrument. Calculations and verification tests validated the thermal concept.

Paper Details

Date Published: 17 September 2012
PDF: 12 pages
Proc. SPIE 8443, Space Telescopes and Instrumentation 2012: Ultraviolet to Gamma Ray, 844352 (17 September 2012); doi: 10.1117/12.925490
Show Author Affiliations
Maria Fürmetz, Max-Planck-Institut für extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
Josef Eder, Max-Planck-Institut für extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
Elmar Pfeffermann, Max-Planck-Institut für extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
Peter Predehl, Max-Planck-Institut für extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
Lars Tiedemann, Max-Planck-Institut für extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 8443:
Space Telescopes and Instrumentation 2012: Ultraviolet to Gamma Ray
Tadayuki Takahashi; Stephen S. Murray; Jan-Willem A. den Herder, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top