Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Large diameter multilevel graded nanostructured microlens
Author(s): Jedrzej Nowosielski; Ryszard Buczynski; Andrew J. Waddie; Adam Filipkowski; Dariusz Pysz; Aongus McCarthy; Ryszard Stepien; Mohammad R. Taghizadeh
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00

Paper Abstract

In this paper we report on the fabrication, optical properties and imaging capabilities of nanostructured gradient index microlenses with diffraction limited performance and good chromatic behaviour. We introduce a new fabrication concept for the development of large diameter nanostructured gradient index microlenses based on quantised gradient index profiles and the use of nanostructured meta-rods. We show the dependence of the quality of performance on the number of refractive index levels and the overall lens diameter. The practical limit of the proposed method for fabricating nanostructured GRIN microlenses is determined to be 120μm for 7 discrete levels of nanostructured meta-rod refractive index. The fabricated microlenses show good achromatic behaviour - the observed working distances for illumination at wavelengths of 633 nm and 850 nm are 43μm and 40μm, respectively, while the focal spot sizes remain the same for both wavelengths

Paper Details

Date Published: 8 May 2012
PDF: 6 pages
Proc. SPIE 8428, Micro-Optics 2012, 84280Q (8 May 2012); doi: 10.1117/12.922919
Show Author Affiliations
Jedrzej Nowosielski, Heriot-Watt Univ. (United Kingdom)
Univ. of Warsaw (Poland)
Ryszard Buczynski, Heriot-Watt Univ. (United Kingdom)
Univ. of Warsaw (Poland)
Andrew J. Waddie, Heriot-Watt Univ. (United Kingdom)
Adam Filipkowski, Heriot-Watt Univ. (United Kingdom)
Institute of Electronic Materials Technology (Poland)
Dariusz Pysz, Institute of Electronic Materials Technology (Poland)
Aongus McCarthy, Heriot-Watt Univ. (United Kingdom)
Ryszard Stepien, Institute of Electronic Materials Technology (Poland)
Mohammad R. Taghizadeh, Heriot-Watt Univ. (United Kingdom)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 8428:
Micro-Optics 2012
Hugo Thienpont; Jürgen Mohr; Hans Zappe; Hirochika Nakajima, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top