Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

All-optical control of neuronal function via optical delivery of light-sensitive proteins and optogenetic stimulation
Author(s): Alex Villalobos; Ling Gu; Samarendra Mohanty
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00

Paper Abstract

While pulsed laser beams have been used for stimulation of neurons, cellular specificity during optical stimulation is achieved by photo-sensitization of genetically-targeted cells by optogenetic means. However, till date, the process of optogenetic-sensitization primarily involves use of viral vectors. In rare occasions, electroporation has been used. Here, we report an all-optical method in which pulsed laser beam is used for delivery of genes, encoding optogenetic probes, to spatially-targeted cells, followed by optogenetic stimulation and optical detection of the activation process. Use of laser microbeam enabled highly precise spatially-patterned delivery of optogenes, as confirmed by expression of conjugated fluorescent protein. Light-activation of opsin-expressing cells was confirmed by calcium-imaging. The laser-assisted expression of optogenetic probes in spatially-targeted regions in combination with light-assisted activation and optical detection of neural activity will help in better understanding of the neuronal circuitry.

Paper Details

Date Published: 17 February 2012
PDF: 6 pages
Proc. SPIE 8207, Photonic Therapeutics and Diagnostics VIII, 82076B (17 February 2012); doi: 10.1117/12.916751
Show Author Affiliations
Alex Villalobos, The Univ. of Texas at Arlington (United States)
Ling Gu, The Univ. of Texas at Arlington (United States)
Samarendra Mohanty, The Univ. of Texas at Arlington (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 8207:
Photonic Therapeutics and Diagnostics VIII
Anita Mahadevan-Jansen; Andreas Mandelis; Kenton W. Gregory; Nikiforos Kollias; Hyun Wook Kang; Henry Hirschberg; Melissa J. Suter; Brian Jet-Fei Wong; Justus F. Ilgner; Stephen Lam; Bodo E. Knudsen; Steen Madsen; E. Duco Jansen; Bernard Choi; Guillermo J. Tearney; Laura Marcu; Haishan Zeng; Matthew Brenner; Krzysztof Izdebski, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top