Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Ultrafast nonlinear terahertz studies of high-field charge transport in semiconductors
Author(s): Thomas Elsaesser; Pamela Bowlan; Klaus Reimann; Michael Woerner; Rudolf Hey; Christos Flytzanis
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00

Paper Abstract

Nonlinear terahertz (THz) spectroscopy gives insight into high-field charge transport in semiconductors. Strong THz transients with field amplitudes of up to megavolts/cm serve as a driving field for free carriers and the resulting transport behavior is directly inferred from the field radiated by the moving charges. We study the transition from a ballistic to a drift-like transport regime of electrons in bulk GaAs. While electrons in the lowest conduction band of an n-type sample display ballistic transport, a transition to a drift-like behavior is found in an optically generated electron-hole plasma. Time-resolved measurements reveal the onset of friction on a time scale of a few picoseconds, mainly due to interactions of electrons with the hole distribution heated by the intense THz driving field. Experiments in which photoexcited electrons undergo intervalley scattering from the Γ to the L valley reveal characteristic changes of the transport behavior due to the picosecond backscattering to the Γ valley. The experimental results are in agreement with theoretical calculations of the time-dependent friction including both electron-hole scattering and local-field effects.

Paper Details

Date Published: 21 February 2012
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 8260, Ultrafast Phenomena and Nanophotonics XVI, 82600N (21 February 2012); doi: 10.1117/12.910178
Show Author Affiliations
Thomas Elsaesser, Max-Born-Institut für Nichtlineare Optik und Kurzzeitspektroskopie (Germany)
Pamela Bowlan, Max-Born-Institut für Nichtlineare Optik und Kurzzeitspektroskopie (Germany)
Klaus Reimann, Max-Born-Institut für Nichtlineare Optik und Kurzzeitspektroskopie (Germany)
Michael Woerner, Max-Born-Institut für Nichtlineare Optik und Kurzzeitspektroskopie (Germany)
Rudolf Hey, Paul-Drude-Institut für Festkörperelektronik (Germany)
Christos Flytzanis, Lab. Pierre Aigrain, Ecole Normale Supérieure (France)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 8260:
Ultrafast Phenomena and Nanophotonics XVI
Markus Betz; Abdulhakem Y. Elezzabi; Jin-Joo Song; Kong-Thon Tsen, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top