Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Control of element distribution in glass with femtosecond laser
Author(s): Masahiro Shimizu; Masaaki Sakakura; Masayuki Nishi; Yasuhiko Shimotsuma; Kazuyuki Hirao; Kiyotaka Miura
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

Element migration in multicomponent glass is a phenomenon induced by high-repetition femtosecond laser irradiation and enables spatially selective modification of glass composition. Since the composition of a glass affects its material properties such as refractive index, luminescence, etching rate, viscosity, crystallization temperature, and phase-separation property, element migration is of great interest for practical applications. However, the mechanisms underlying migration have not been elucidated. In this study, we succeeded in identifying its driving force. In an experimental study, we simultaneously focused two beams of femtosecond laser pulses into two spatially-separated spots inside silicate glass. We observed the formation of characteristically shaped element distributions by electron probe microanalysis. In addition, we performed numerical simulations in which we considered concentration- and temperature-gradient-driven diffusions. The simulation results were in excellent qualitative agreement with the experimental results, indicating that element migration can be explained by thermodiffusion and that the driving force is the temperature gradient. These results constitute an important advance for three-dimensional control of glass properties.

Paper Details

Date Published: 17 February 2012
PDF: 6 pages
Proc. SPIE 8244, Laser-based Micro- and Nanopackaging and Assembly VI, 82440O (17 February 2012); doi: 10.1117/12.906644
Show Author Affiliations
Masahiro Shimizu, Kyoto Univ. (Japan)
Masaaki Sakakura, Kyoto Univ. (Japan)
Masayuki Nishi, Kyoto Univ. (Japan)
Yasuhiko Shimotsuma, Kyoto Univ. (Japan)
Kazuyuki Hirao, Kyoto Univ. (Japan)
Kiyotaka Miura, Kyoto Univ. (Japan)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 8244:
Laser-based Micro- and Nanopackaging and Assembly VI
Friedrich G. Bachmann; Wilhelm Pfleging; Kunihiko Washio; Jun Amako; Willem Hoving; Yongfeng Lu, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top