Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Mathematical modeling on experimental protocol of glucose adjustment for non-invasive blood glucose sensing
Author(s): Jingying Jiang; Xiaolin Min; Da Zou; Kexin Xu
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Currently, blood glucose concentration levels from OGTT(Oral Glucose Tolerance Test) results are used to build PLS model in noninvasive blood glucose sensing by Near-Infrared(NIR) Spectroscopy. However, the univocal dynamic change trend of blood glucose concentration based on OGTT results is not various enough to provide comprehensive data to make PLS model robust and accurate. In this talk, with the final purpose of improving the stability and accuracy of the PLS model, we introduced an integrated minimal model(IMM) of glucose metabolism system. First, by adjusting parameters, which represent different metabolism characteristics and individual differences, comparatively ideal mediation programs to different groups of people, even individuals were customized. Second, with different glucose input types(oral method, intravenous injection, or intravenous drip), we got various changes of blood glucose concentration. And by studying the adjustment methods of blood glucose concentration, we would thus customize corresponding experimental protocols of glucose adjustment to different people for noninvasive blood glucose concentration and supply comprehensive data for PLS model.

Paper Details

Date Published: 9 February 2012
PDF: 11 pages
Proc. SPIE 8222, Dynamics and Fluctuations in Biomedical Photonics IX, 822215 (9 February 2012); doi: 10.1117/12.905941
Show Author Affiliations
Jingying Jiang, Tianjin Univ. (China)
Xiaolin Min, Tianjin Univ. (China)
Da Zou, Tianjin Univ. (China)
Kexin Xu, Tianjin Univ. (China)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 8222:
Dynamics and Fluctuations in Biomedical Photonics IX
Valery V. Tuchin; Donald D. Duncan; Kirill V. Larin; Martin J. Leahy; Ruikang K. Wang, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top