Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Metastable electrical characteristics of polycrystalline thin-film photovoltaic modules upon exposure and stabilization
Author(s): Chris A. Deline; Joseph A. del Cueto; David S. Albin; Steve R. Rummel
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

The significant features of a series of stabilization experiments conducted at the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL) between May 2009 and the present are reported. These experiments evaluated a procedure to stabilize the measured performance of thin-film polycrystalline cadmium telluride (CdTe) and copper indium gallium diselenide (CIGS) thin-film photovoltaic (PV) modules. The current-voltage (I-V) characteristics of CdTe and CIGS thin-film PV devices and modules exhibit transitory changes in electrical performance after thermal exposure in the dark and/or bias and light exposures. We present the results of our case studies of module performance versus exposure: light-soaked at 65°C; exposed in the dark under forward bias at 65°C; and, finally, longer-term outdoor exposure. We find that stabilization can be achieved to varying degrees using either light-soaking or dark bias methods and that the existing IEC 61646 light-soaking interval may be appropriate for CdTe and CIGS modules with one caveat: it is likely that at least three exposure intervals are required for stabilization.

Paper Details

Date Published: 13 September 2011
PDF: 14 pages
Proc. SPIE 8112, Reliability of Photovoltaic Cells, Modules, Components, and Systems IV, 81120T (13 September 2011); doi: 10.1117/12.893813
Show Author Affiliations
Chris A. Deline, National Renewable Energy Lab. (United States)
Joseph A. del Cueto, National Renewable Energy Lab. (United States)
Abound Solar, Inc. (United States)
David S. Albin, National Renewable Energy Lab. (United States)
Steve R. Rummel, National Renewable Energy Lab. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 8112:
Reliability of Photovoltaic Cells, Modules, Components, and Systems IV
Neelkanth G. Dhere; John H. Wohlgemuth; Kevin W. Lynn, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top