Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Interfacial charge transfer dynamics in TiO2-sensitizer-Ru4POM photocatalytic systems for water oxidation
Author(s): Zhuangqun Huang; Yurii V. Geletii; David Wu; Chantelle L. Anfuso; Djamaladdin G. Musaev; Craig L. Hill; Tianquan Lian
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Efficient solar-driven catalytic water oxidation is one of the main challenges in solar-to-fuel conversion. In this proceeding, we investigate three approaches for constructing electron acceptor -sensitizer - catalysts systems for photocatalytic water oxidation and our current understanding of the relevant fundamental processes involved. We demonstrated that an all-inorganic molecular water oxidation catalyst (WOC), [{Ru4O4(OH)2(H2O)4}(γ-SiW10O36)2]10- (or Ru4POM), catalyzed a homogenous O2 evolution system with 27% quantum efficiency in homogeneous solution in the presence of sensitizer (Ru(bpy)3) and sacrificial electron donor.1 This suggests the feasibility of a heterogeneous photoelectrochemical system in which the photoanode integrates all three components: electron acceptor, photosensitizer, and WOC. We prepare a photocatalytic electrode based on Ru4POM and a dye-sensitized nanoporous TiO2 film for efficient light-harvesting and charge separation. Ultrafast spectroscopic studies of this triadic nanocomposite indicate efficient charge separation from the excited sensitizer to TiO2 and efficient regeneration of the ground state of the dye. The latter can be attributed to Ru4POM oxidation by the photogenerated dye cation and has a yield of > 80% within 1 ns.

Paper Details

Date Published: 19 September 2011
PDF: 10 pages
Proc. SPIE 8109, Solar Hydrogen and Nanotechnology VI, 810903 (19 September 2011); doi: 10.1117/12.893079
Show Author Affiliations
Zhuangqun Huang, Emory Univ. (United States)
Yurii V. Geletii, Emory Univ. (United States)
David Wu, Emory Univ. (United States)
Chantelle L. Anfuso, Emory Univ. (United States)
Djamaladdin G. Musaev, Emory Univ. (United States)
Craig L. Hill, Emory Univ. (United States)
Tianquan Lian, Emory Univ. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 8109:
Solar Hydrogen and Nanotechnology VI
Yasuhiro Tachibana, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top