Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Uncooled infrared detectors toward smaller pixel pitch with newly proposed pixel structure
Author(s): Shigeru Tohyama; Tokuhito Sasaki; Tsutomu Endoh; Masahiko Sano; Kouji Katoh; Seiji Kurashina; Masaru Miyoshi; Takao Yamazaki; Munetaka Ueno; Haruyoshi Katayama; Tadashi Imai
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Since authors have successfully demonstrated uncooled infrared (IR) focal plane array (FPA) with 23.5 um pixel pitch, it has been widely utilized for commercial applications such as thermography, security camera and so on. One of the key issues for uncooled IR detector technology is to shrink the pixel size. The smaller the pixel pitch, the more the IR camera products become compact and the less cost. This paper proposes a new pixel structure with a diaphragm and beams which are placed in different level, to realize an uncooled IRFPA with smaller pixel pitch )≤17 μm). The upper level consists of diaphragm with VOx bolometer and IR absorber layers, while the lower level consists of the two beams, which are designed to place on the adjacent pixels. The test devices of this pixel design with 12 um, 15 um and 17 um pitch have been fabricated on the Si ROIC of QVGA (320 × 240) with 23.5 um pitch. Their performances reveal nearly equal to the IRFPA with 23.5 um pitch. For example, noise equivalent temperature difference (NETD) of 12 μm pixel is 63.1 mK with thermal time constant of 14.5 msec. In addition, this new structure is expected to be more effective for the existing IRFPA with 23.5 um pitch in order to improve the IR responsivity.

Paper Details

Date Published: 20 May 2011
PDF: 13 pages
Proc. SPIE 8012, Infrared Technology and Applications XXXVII, 80121M (20 May 2011); doi: 10.1117/12.886345
Show Author Affiliations
Shigeru Tohyama, NEC Corp. (Japan)
Tokuhito Sasaki, NEC Corp. (Japan)
Tsutomu Endoh, NEC Corp. (Japan)
Masahiko Sano, NEC Corp. (Japan)
Kouji Katoh, NEC Corp. (Japan)
Seiji Kurashina, NEC Corp. (Japan)
Masaru Miyoshi, NEC Corp. (Japan)
Takao Yamazaki, NEC Corp. (Japan)
Munetaka Ueno, Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (Japan)
Haruyoshi Katayama, Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (Japan)
Tadashi Imai, Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (Japan)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 8012:
Infrared Technology and Applications XXXVII
Bjørn F. Andresen; Gabor F. Fulop; Paul R. Norton, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top