Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Time-dependent analysis of AlGaAs/AlGaAs tunnel junctions for high efficiency multi-junction solar cells
Author(s): Gitanjali Kolhatkar; Jeffrey F. Wheeldon; Christopher E. Valdivia; Alexandre W. Walker; Simon Fafard; Artur Turala; Abdelatif Jaouad; Richard Arès; Vincent Aimez; Karin Hinzer
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00

Paper Abstract

The current density-voltage characteristic of an AlGaAs/AlGaAs tunnel junction is determined by taking a time-averaged measurement across the device. A tunnelling peak of ~950A/cm2 is recorded by this method. Measurements of the tunnelling peak and valley currents by the time averaging method are obscured due to the unstable nature of the negative differential resistance region of the current density-voltage characteristic. This AlGaAs/AlGaAs tunnel junction is then biased inside the negative differential resistance region of the current density-voltage characteristic, causing the current and the voltage to oscillate between the peak and the valley. The current and voltage oscillations are measured over time and then currents and voltages corresponding to the same time stamps are plotted against each other to form a timedependent curve from which a tunnelling peak of a value larger than 1100A/cm2 is determined. The peak determined by this method is 11-20% larger than previously determined using the time averaged measurement. An AlGaAs/InGaP tunnel junction having no negative differential resistance region is also presented.

Paper Details

Date Published: 22 September 2010
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 7750, Photonics North 2010, 77502S (22 September 2010); doi: 10.1117/12.872886
Show Author Affiliations
Gitanjali Kolhatkar, Univ. of Ottawa (Canada)
Jeffrey F. Wheeldon, Univ. of Ottawa (Canada)
Christopher E. Valdivia, Univ. of Ottawa (Canada)
Alexandre W. Walker, Univ. of Ottawa (Canada)
Simon Fafard, Cyrium Technologies Inc. (Canada)
Artur Turala, Univ. de Sherbrooke (Canada)
Abdelatif Jaouad, Univ. de Sherbrooke (Canada)
Richard Arès, Univ. de Sherbrooke (Canada)
Vincent Aimez, Univ. de Sherbrooke (Canada)
Karin Hinzer, Univ. of Ottawa (Canada)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 7750:
Photonics North 2010
Henry P. Schriemer; Rafael N. Kleiman, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top