Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

High-precision cryogenic wheel mechanisms of the JWST/MIRI instrument: performance of the flight models
Author(s): O. Krause; F. Müller; S. Birkmann; A. Böhm; M. Ebert; U. Grözinger; Th. Henning; R. Hofferbert; A. Huber; D. Lemke; R.-R. Rohloff; S. Scheithauer; T. Gross; T. Fischer; G. Luichtel; H. Merkle; M. Übele; H.-U. Wieland; J. Amiaux; R. Jager; A. Glauser; P. Parr-Burman; J. Sykes
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

The Mid Infrared Instrument (MIRI) aboard JWST is equipped with one filter wheel and two dichroic-grating wheel mechanisms to reconfigure the instrument between observing modes such as broad/narrow-band imaging, coronagraphy and low/medium resolution spectroscopy. Key requirements for the three mechanisms with up to 18 optical elements on the wheel include: (1) reliable operation at T = 7 K, (2) high positional accuracy of 4 arcsec, (3) low power dissipation, (4) high vibration capability, (5) functionality at 7 K < T < 300 K and (6) long lifetime (5-10 years). To meet these requirements a space-proven wheel concept consisting of a central MoS2-lubricated integrated ball bearing, a central torque motor for actuation, a ratchet system with monolithic CuBe flexural pivots for precise and powerless positioning and a magnetoresistive position sensor has been implemented. We report here the final performance and lessons-learnt from the successful acceptance test program of the MIRI wheel mechanism flight models. The mechanisms have been meanwhile integrated into the flight model of the MIRI instrument, ready for launch in 2014 by an Ariane 5 rocket.

Paper Details

Date Published: 19 July 2010
PDF: 12 pages
Proc. SPIE 7739, Modern Technologies in Space- and Ground-based Telescopes and Instrumentation, 773918 (19 July 2010); doi: 10.1117/12.856887
Show Author Affiliations
O. Krause, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
F. Müller, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
S. Birkmann, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
A. Böhm, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
M. Ebert, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
U. Grözinger, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
Th. Henning, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
R. Hofferbert, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
A. Huber, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
D. Lemke, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
R.-R. Rohloff, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
S. Scheithauer, Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie (Germany)
T. Gross, Carl Zeiss Optronics GmbH (Germany)
T. Fischer, Carl Zeiss Optronics GmbH (Germany)
G. Luichtel, Carl Zeiss Optronics GmbH (Germany)
H. Merkle, Carl Zeiss Optronics GmbH (Germany)
M. Übele, Carl Zeiss Optronics GmbH (Germany)
H.-U. Wieland, Carl Zeiss Optronics GmbH (Germany)
J. Amiaux, CEA, IRFU (France)
R. Jager, ASTRON (Netherlands)
A. Glauser, ETH Zurich (Switzerland)
P. Parr-Burman, UK Astronomy Technology Ctr. (United Kingdom)
J. Sykes, Univ. of Leicester (United Kingdom)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 7739:
Modern Technologies in Space- and Ground-based Telescopes and Instrumentation
Eli Atad-Ettedgui; Dietrich Lemke, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top