Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Structure optimization of electro-optic polymer waveguides for low half-wave voltage modulators
Author(s): Hind Mahé; Dominique Bosc; Nicolas Gayet; Fabrice Odobel; Pierre-Antoinne Bonnardel; Duc Minh Nguyen; Mathieu Halbwax
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

In this article, we discuss the waveguide dimensions optimization aiming to reduce the Vπ. For that purpose, various cover materials are investigated leading to a minimum effective core area " Aeff". The index contrast (core-cladding) at λ= 1550 nm, is varying from 0.07 to 0.21. As a result, the Aeff decreases from 12 μm2 down to 2.3 μm2, the total thickness of the waveguide is thus reduced and consequently the Vπ. Optimal parameters were calculated at λ= 1550 nm for single mode inverted-rib waveguides structure. The PAS1 a new polymer is used as electro-optic material for the core. An analytical model taking account the losses by tunnelling, allowed us to estimate the optimum distance between electrodes to reduce the Vπ which could be about 1.6V ( 0.8 V in a push-pull configuration). Related with the bandwidth of the modulator, permittivity measurements were carried out on core and cladding polymers as well. The process of waveguides fabrication is described in details and several waveguides are performed. Finally, a new experimental technique for precision measurements of the propagation losses in waveguides is presented. The principle is simple, and the propagation losses measured is found to be independent of coupling conditions.

Paper Details

Date Published: 4 June 2010
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 7728, Nonlinear Optics and Applications IV, 77281G (4 June 2010); doi: 10.1117/12.853595
Show Author Affiliations
Hind Mahé, Lab. Foton, CNRS, Univ. Européenne de Bretagne (France)
Dominique Bosc, Lab. Foton, CNRS, Univ. Européenne de Bretagne (France)
Nicolas Gayet, Lab. Foton, CNRS, Univ. Européenne de Bretagne (France)
Fabrice Odobel, Lab. CEISAM, CNRS, Univ. de Nantes (France)
Pierre-Antoinne Bonnardel, Produits Chimiques Auxiliaires et de Synthèse (France)
Duc Minh Nguyen, Lab. Foton, CNRS, Univ. Européenne de Bretagne (France)
Mathieu Halbwax, IEMN, CNRS (France)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 7728:
Nonlinear Optics and Applications IV
Benjamin J. Eggleton; Alexander Luis Gaeta; Neil G. R. Broderick, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top