Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Development of low-noise and high-speed SWIR photo receivers
Author(s): Xiaogang Bai; Ping Yuan; Paul McDonald; Joseph Boisvert; Robyn Woo; Kam Wan; Rengarajan Sudharsanan; Michael Krainak; Guangning Yang; Xiaoli Sun; Wei Lu; Dion McIntosh; Qiugui Zhou; Han-din Liu; Joe Campbell
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

There is strong interest in developing Short Wavelength Infrared (SWIR) photo receivers for applications like laser ranging and robotic vision. Recently, Spectrolab has developed a first generation low noise receiver for NASA. The receiver shows a bandwidth of 180 MHz, presently limited by the transimpedance amplifier (TIA). The first generation photoreceiver has InP avalanche photodiode (APD). The overall photoreceiver noise equivalent power (NEP) is less than 300 fW/√Hz. Furthermore, Spectrolab is developing low excess noise APDs with Impact Ionization Engineering (I2E). The I2E low noise APDs were built from baseline InAlAs APDs with a keff value of 0.22. A thin layer of InGaAlAs alloy was incorporated into the InAlAs multiplication layer in these devices. All the I2E APDs show lower keff-value than InAlAs and very low dark currents. Values as low as keff<0.1 have been demonstrated. These I2E APDs will be used in Spectrolab's second generation photoreceiver. A Noise Equivalent Power (NEP) of 300 fW/√Hz is expected over a 1GHz response bandwidth.

Paper Details

Date Published: 28 July 2010
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 7660, Infrared Technology and Applications XXXVI, 76603G (28 July 2010); doi: 10.1117/12.849477
Show Author Affiliations
Xiaogang Bai, Spectrolab, Inc. (United States)
Ping Yuan, Spectrolab, Inc. (United States)
Paul McDonald, Spectrolab, Inc. (United States)
Joseph Boisvert, Spectrolab, Inc. (United States)
Robyn Woo, Spectrolab, Inc. (United States)
Kam Wan, Spectrolab, Inc. (United States)
Rengarajan Sudharsanan, Spectrolab, Inc. (United States)
Michael Krainak, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Guangning Yang, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Xiaoli Sun, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Wei Lu, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Dion McIntosh, Univ. of Virginia (United States)
Qiugui Zhou, Univ. of Virginia (United States)
Han-din Liu, Univ. of Virginia (United States)
Joe Campbell, Univ. of Virginia (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 7660:
Infrared Technology and Applications XXXVI
Bjørn F. Andresen; Gabor F. Fulop; Paul R. Norton, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top