Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Temporal femtosecond pulse tailoring for nanoscale laser processing of wide-bandgap materials
Author(s): Matthias Wollenhaupt; Lars Englert; Alexander Horn; Thomas Baumert
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

Nanoscale laser processing of wide-bandgap materials with temporally shaped femtosecond laser pulses is investigated experimentally. Femtosecond pulse shaping in frequency domain is introduced and applied to two classes of shaped pulses relevant to laser nano structuring. The first class, characterized by a symmetric temporal pulse envelope but asymmetric instantaneous frequency allows us to examine the influence of the sweep of the photon energy. In contrast, asymmetric temporal pulse envelopes with a constant instantaneous frequency serve as a prototype for pulses with time-dependent energy flow but constant photon energy. In our experiment, we use a modified microscope set up to irradiate the surface of a fused silica sample with a single shaped pulse resulting in ablation structures. The topology of the laser generated structures is measured by Atomic Force Microscopy (AFM). Structure parameters are investigated as a function of the pulse energy and the modulation parameters. We find different thresholds for surface material modification with respect to an asymmetric pulse and its time reversed counterpart. However, we do not observe pronounced differences between up- and down-chirped radiation in the measured structure diameters and thresholds.

Paper Details

Date Published: 1 March 2010
PDF: 11 pages
Proc. SPIE 7600, Ultrafast Phenomena in Semiconductors and Nanostructure Materials XIV, 76000X (1 March 2010); doi: 10.1117/12.840511
Show Author Affiliations
Matthias Wollenhaupt, Univ. Kassel (Germany)
Lars Englert, Univ. Kassel (Germany)
Alexander Horn, Univ. Kassel (Germany)
Thomas Baumert, Univ. Kassel (Germany)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 7600:
Ultrafast Phenomena in Semiconductors and Nanostructure Materials XIV
Jin-Joo Song; Kong-Thon Tsen; Markus Betz; Abdulhakem Y. Elezzabi, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top