Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Applying the joint Wigner time-frequency distribution to characterization of ultra-short optical dissipative solitary pulses in the actively mode-locked semiconductor laser with an external single-mode fiber cavity
Author(s): Alexandre S. Shcherbakov; P. Moreno Zarate; Joaquin Campos Acosta; Yurij V. Il'n; Il'ya S. Tarasov
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

We discuss specifically elaborated technique for characterizing the train-average parameters of low-power picosecond optical pulses with the frequency chirp, arranged in high-repetition-frequency trains, in both time and frequency domains. This technique is applied to rather important case of pulse generation when a single-mode semiconductor heterolaser operates in a multi-pulse regime of the active mode-locking. In fact, the trains of optical dissipative solitary pulses, which appear under a double balance between mutually compensating actions of dispersion and nonlinearity as well as gain and optical losses, are under characterization. The presented approach involves the joint Wigner time-frequency distributions, which can be found for those picosecond optical dissipative solitary pulses due to the exploitation of a novel interferometric technique. Practically, the semiconductor InGaAsP/InP-heterolaser generating at the wavelength 1320 nm was exploited during the illustrating experiments carried out and the possibility of evaluating the corresponding joint Wigner time-frequency distributions has been obviously demonstrated.

Paper Details

Date Published: 25 February 2010
PDF: 10 pages
Proc. SPIE 7597, Physics and Simulation of Optoelectronic Devices XVIII, 75971B (25 February 2010); doi: 10.1117/12.839445
Show Author Affiliations
Alexandre S. Shcherbakov, National Institute for Astrophysics, Optics, and Electronics (Mexico)
P. Moreno Zarate, National Institute for Astrophysics, Optics, and Electronics (Mexico)
Joaquin Campos Acosta, Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas (Spain)
Yurij V. Il'n, A.F. Ioffe Physical-Technical Institute (Russian Federation)
Il'ya S. Tarasov, A.F. Ioffe Physical-Technical Institute (Russian Federation)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 7597:
Physics and Simulation of Optoelectronic Devices XVIII
Bernd Witzigmann; Fritz Henneberger; Yasuhiko Arakawa; Marek Osinski, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top