Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

IRFPA technology utilizing HgCdTe/Si: successes, roadblocks, and material improvements
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Mercury Cadmium Telluride (HgCdTe) is the material of choice for the majority of high performance infrared focal plane array (IRFPA) systems fielded in the Army with state-of-the-art HgCdTe growth using a bulk Cadmium Zinc Telluride (CdZnTe) substrate. However, as the push for larger array sizes continues, it has been recognized that an alternative substrate technology will be required for HgCdTe IRFPAs. A major effort has been placed in developing CdTe/Si as such a substrate. Although successful for short-wavelength (SWIR) and mid-wavelength (MWIR) focal plane arrays, current HgCdTe/Si material quality is insufficient for long-wavelength (LWIR) arrays due to the high density of dislocations present in the material. In this paper, we will discuss several processes being developed at the U.S. Army Research Laboratory (ARL) to overcome this issue. Effort has been placed on both composite substrate development and improvement, and on HgCdTe/Si post-growth processes. Recently, we have demonstrated HgCdTe/Si material with dislocation density measuring 1 × 106 cm-2. This is a five times reduction in the baseline material dislocation density currently used in the fabrication of devices.

Paper Details

Date Published: 27 August 2009
PDF: 14 pages
Proc. SPIE 7419, Infrared Systems and Photoelectronic Technology IV, 74190L (27 August 2009); doi: 10.1117/12.828592
Show Author Affiliations
Gregory N. Brill, Army Research Lab. (United States)
Yuanping Chen, Army Research Lab. (United States)
Priyalal Wijewarnasuriya, Army Research Lab. (United States)
Nibir Dhar, Army Research Lab. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 7419:
Infrared Systems and Photoelectronic Technology IV
Eustace L. Dereniak; Randolph E. Longshore; Ashok K. Sood; John P. Hartke; Paul D. LeVan, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top