Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Current status of the Astro-H X-ray Telescope system
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

Astro-H mission is the new Japanese X-ray mission following Suzaku. One of the unique features of the mission is an imaging spectroscopy in a unprecedentedly wide energy region from 0.3 to 60 keV. The X-Ray Telescope (XRT) system covers the energy region by means of grazing incidence reflective optics. In the current baseline specification, the XRT system consists of two hard X-ray telescopes (HXTs) which cover 5 to 60 keV, and two soft X-ray telescopes (SXT-S and SXT-I) which cover 0.3 to about 10 keV. Both of HXT and SXT-S mirrors employ tightly-nested, conicallyapproximated thin-foil Wolter-I optics. The HXTs employ Pt/C depth-graded multilayers (supermirrors), while the SXTS employ a single layer of gold. We measured test reflectors for Astro-H HXT at SPring-8, and obtained the roughness of the test reflectors of < 4 A and the image blur after two reflections of 0.8'-1.1'. International collaboration has been formed for the project, and basic and design studies have been carried out. Based on the basic study, detailed studies of the flight design are in progress, and production facilities for the Astro-H XRT system are close to complete.

Paper Details

Date Published: 31 August 2009
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 7437, Optics for EUV, X-Ray, and Gamma-Ray Astronomy IV, 743703 (31 August 2009); doi: 10.1117/12.826004
Show Author Affiliations
Hisamitsu Awaki, Ehime Univ. (Japan)
Yasushi Ogasaka, Nagoya Univ. (Japan)
Hideyo Kunieda, Nagoya Univ. (Japan)
Akihiro Furuzawa, Nagoya Univ. (Japan)
Hideyuki Mori, Nagoya Univ. (Japan)
Takuya Miyazawa, Nagoya Univ. (Japan)
Yoshito Haba, Nagoya Univ. (Japan)
Yuzuru Tawara, Nagoya Univ. (Japan)
Koujun Yamashita, Nagoya Univ. (Japan)
Peter Serlemitsos, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Yang Soong, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Takashi Okajima, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Manabu Ishida, ISAS/JAXA (Japan)
Yoshitomo Maeda, ISAS/JAXA (Japan)
Keisuke Tamura, ISAS/JAXA (Japan)
Yoshiharu Namba, Chubu Univ. (Japan)
Kentaro Uesugi, JASRI/SPring-8 (Japan)
Yoshio Suzuki, JASRI/SPring-8 (Japan)
Keiji Ogi, Ehime Univ. (Japan)
Masayuki Itoh, Kobe Univ. (Japan)
Tatsuro Kosaka, Osaka City Univ. (Japan)
Hiroshi Tsunemi, Osaka Univ. (Japan)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 7437:
Optics for EUV, X-Ray, and Gamma-Ray Astronomy IV
Stephen L. O'Dell; Giovanni Pareschi, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top