Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Towards a femtosecond laser micro-machined optofluidic device for distinguishing algae species
Author(s): Vijay K. Pahilwani; Yves Bellouard; Thomas Rhorlack; Ali A Said; Mark Dugan; Philippe Bado
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

We demonstrate a small device with a microfluidic channel and an integrated waveguide as a compact rudimentary tool for the detection, real-time monitoring, and potentially classification of algae. In order to reduce parasitic noise the micro-device used a curved subsurface optical waveguide to illuminate particles transiting through a microfluidic channel. The changes in the transmitted signal are monitored using a quadrant-cell photo-detector. The signals wavelets from the different quadrants are used to qualitatively distinguish different families of algae. Additional information, such as flow direction, is also provided. The channel and waveguide are fabricated out of a monolithic fused-silica substrate using a femtosecond laser-writing process combined with chemical etching. This proof-of-concept device paves the way for more elaborate femtosecond laser-based optofluidic micro-instruments incorporating waveguide network designed for the real-time analysis of cells and microorganisms in the field.

Paper Details

Date Published: 17 November 2008
PDF: 6 pages
Proc. SPIE 7266, Optomechatronic Technologies 2008, 72660E (17 November 2008); doi: 10.1117/12.817321
Show Author Affiliations
Vijay K. Pahilwani, Eindhoven Univ. of Technology (Netherlands)
Yves Bellouard, Eindhoven Univ. of Technology (Netherlands)
Thomas Rhorlack, Norwegian Institute for Water Research (Norway)
Ali A Said, Translume, Inc. (United States)
Mark Dugan, Translume, Inc. (United States)
Philippe Bado, Translume, Inc. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 7266:
Optomechatronic Technologies 2008
John T. Wen; Dalibor Hodko; Yukitoshi Otani; Jonathan Kofman; Okyay Kaynak, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top