Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Diode-pumped ytterbium-based chirped-pulse amplifier
Author(s): Mathias Siebold; Sandro Klingebiel; Christoph Wandt; Markus Wolf; Joerg Koerner; Marco Hornung; Joachim Hein; Ferenc Krausz; Stefan Karsch
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $14.40 $18.00
cover GOOD NEWS! Your organization subscribes to the SPIE Digital Library. You may be able to download this paper for free. Check Access

Paper Abstract

This paper will describe a comparative study on four different Yb-doped laser materials in a diode-pumped femtosecond chirped-pulse amplifier. Broadband multi-pass amplification using single crystalline Yb:CaF2, Yb:KGW, and Yb:YAG as well as Yb-doped fluoride phosphate glass was demonstrated. The seed pulses as short as 85 fs were generated in a Ti:Sapphire oscillator tuned to a center-wavelength of 1030nm and then boosted to the 100 μJ-level in a diode-pumped Yb:glass regenerative amplifier. Furthermore, the amplifier performance at nanosecond and microsecond time-scales was analyzed. With regard to the 10-nm line-width of the emission cross section the gain narrowing in Yb:YAG was investigated in particular. The pulse spectrum was narrowed to 1.9nm at a total gain of 103 in an Yb:YAG multi-pass amplifier. This corresponds to a compressed pulse duration of 0.85 ps. When seeding with nanosecond pulses of a Q-switched oscillator a maximum pulse energy of 220mJ at a repetition rate of 10Hz has been achieved.

Paper Details

Date Published: 21 April 2009
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 7131, XVII International Symposium on Gas Flow, Chemical Lasers, and High-Power Lasers, 713110 (21 April 2009); doi: 10.1117/12.816705
Show Author Affiliations
Mathias Siebold, Max-Planck-Institute for Quantum Optics (Germany)
Friedrich-Schiller-Univ. Jena (Germany)
Sandro Klingebiel, Max-Planck-Institute for Quantum Optics (Germany)
Christoph Wandt, Max-Planck-Institute for Quantum Optics (Germany)
Markus Wolf, Friedrich-Schiller-Univ. Jena (Germany)
Joerg Koerner, Friedrich-Schiller-Univ. Jena (Germany)
Marco Hornung, Friedrich-Schiller-Univ. Jena (Germany)
Joachim Hein, Friedrich-Schiller-Univ. Jena (Germany)
Ferenc Krausz, Max-Planck-Institute for Quantum Optics (Germany)
Stefan Karsch, Max-Planck-Institute for Quantum Optics (Germany)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 7131:
XVII International Symposium on Gas Flow, Chemical Lasers, and High-Power Lasers
Rui Vilar; Olinda Conde; Marta Fajardo; Luís O. Silva; Margarida Pires; Andrei Utkin, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top