Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Magnetic and fluorescence-encoded polystyrene microparticles for cell separation
Author(s): Diana Bradbury; Emily J. Anglin; Sheree Bailey; Peter J. Macardle; Michael Fenech; Helmut Thissen; Nicolas H. Voelcker
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

Materials assisting with the efforts of cell isolation are attractive for numerous biomedical applications including tissue engineering and cell therapy. Here, we have developed surface modification methods on microparticles for the purposes of advanced cell separation. Iron oxide nanoparticles were incorporated into 200 ìm polystyrene microparticles for separation of particle-bound cells from non-bound cells in suspension by means of a permanent magnet. The polystyrene microparticles were further encoded with fluorescent quantum dots (QD) as identification tags to distinguish between specific microparticles in a mixture. Cluster of differentiation (CD) antibodies were displayed on the surface of the microparticles through direct adsorption and various methods of covalent attachment. In addition, a protein A coating was used to orientate the antibodies on the microparticle surface and to maximise accessibility of the antigen-binding sites. Microparticles which carried CD antibodies via covalent attachment showed greater cell attachment over those modifications that were only adsorbed to the surface through weak electrostatic interactions. Greatest extent of cell attachment was observed on microparticles modified with protein A - CD antibody conjugates. B and T lymphocytes were successfully isolated from a mixed population using two types of microparticles displaying B and T cell specific CD antibodies, respectively. Our approach will find application in preparative cell separation from tissue isolates and for microcarrier-based cell expansion.

Paper Details

Date Published: 30 December 2008
PDF: 10 pages
Proc. SPIE 7267, Smart Materials V, 726711 (30 December 2008); doi: 10.1117/12.812208
Show Author Affiliations
Diana Bradbury, Flinders Univ. (Australia)
Emily J. Anglin, Flinders Univ. (Australia)
CSIRO Food Futures Flagship (Australia)
Sheree Bailey, Flinders Medical Ctr. (Australia)
Peter J. Macardle, Flinders Medical Ctr. (Australia)
Michael Fenech, CSIRO Human Nutrition (Australia)
CSIRO Food Futures Flagship (Australia)
Helmut Thissen, CSIRO Molecular and Health Technologies (Australia)
CSIRO Food Futures Flagship (Australia)
Nicolas H. Voelcker, Flinders Univ. (Australia)
CSIRO Food Futures Flagship (Australia)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 7267:
Smart Materials V
Nicolas H. Voelcker; Helmut W. Thissen, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top